News Releases 2016

  1. Facebook
  2. Twitter
  3. Google Plus
  4. Mail
November 14, 2016

Honda Wins FIM MotoGP World Championship Constructors Title

November 14, 2016 - Honda has won the Constructors Title in the 2016 FIM* MotoGP™ World Championship. On November 13, Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) finished 2nd the final round of the 2016 season, GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA, giving Honda its first constructors title since 2014.

Marc Marquez's 2nd place at Valencia gives Honda the constructors title in addition to the riders title.

In the constructors championship, the bike manufacturer is awarded equal points to the riders' results for each race, the winner being determined by the number of points earned. Honda's title was won by the combined efforts of Repsol Honda Team's Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa, LCR Honda's Cal Crutchlow, and Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS Team's Jack Miller.

The 2016 season celebrates Honda's 50th anniversary since first competing in the premier class (500cc class) of the Road Racing World Championship in 1966, and marks Honda's 22nd manufacturers title since it first won the 500cc class in 1966 on a 4-stroke RC181.

*  FIM: Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme

Marc Marquez at Valencia Grand Prix

Marc Marquez at Valencia Grand Prix

RC213V and Winning Riders

RC213V and Winning Riders

2016 MotoGP Constructors Ranking and Points

1st Honda 369points
2nd Yamaha 353points
3rd Ducati 261points
4th Suzuki 208points
5th Aprilia 101points

Honda’s Premier Class Constructors Championship Titles
Road Racing World Championship 500cc / MotoGP class

1966 500cc   RC181(4-stroke)
1983 500cc   NS500(2-stroke)
1984 500cc   NS500 / NSR500(2-stroke)
1985 500cc   NS500 / NSR500(2-stroke)
1989 500cc   NSR500(2-stroke)
1992 500cc   NSR500(2-stroke)
1994 500cc   NSR500(2-stroke)
1995 500cc   NSR500(2-stroke)
1996 500cc   NSR500(2-stroke)
1997 500cc   NSR500(2-stroke)
1998 500cc   NSR500(2-stroke)
1999 500cc   NSR500(2-stroke)
2001 500cc   NSR500(2-stroke)
2002 MotoGP  RC211V(4-stroke)
2003 MotoGP  RC211V(4-stroke)
2004 MotoGP  RC211V(4-stroke)
2006 MotoGP  RC211V(4-stroke)
2011 MotoGP  RC212V(4-stroke)
2012 MotoGP  RC213V(4-stroke)
2013 MotoGP  RC213V(4-stroke)
2014 MotoGP  RC213V(4-stroke)
2016 MotoGP  RC213V(4-stroke)
  • Honda has won a combined total of 65 constructors titles from each class of the Road Racing World Championship.
500cc / MotoGP 22 titles
350cc 6 titles
250cc 19 titles
125cc / Moto3 16 titles
50cc 2 titles