share this page

IndyCar Series 2017

Round 15: Illinois

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
August 26, 2017

Sato Leads Honda Qualifiers at Gateway

• Indianapolis 500 champion Takuma Sato will start sixth in final oval race of 2017
• Championship contender Scott Dixon starts seventh
• Saturday night contest starts at 9 p.m. EDT

MADISON, Ill. (Aug. 25, 2017) – Indianapolis 500 champion Takuma Sato led Honda qualifiers Friday as the Verizon IndyCar Series returned to Gateway Motorsports Park, and will start Saturday night’s final oval race of the season from sixth.

Takuma Satozoom
Takuma Sato
Takuma Satozoom
Takuma Sato

Scott Dixon, currently second in the Drivers’ Championship and in search of his second victory of the season, will start his Chip Ganassi Racing Honda from seventh. Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi and James Hinchcliffe, driving for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, rounded out the top 10 qualifiers for Honda and will start ninth and 10th, respectively.

Television coverage of Saturday night’s 248-lap race, the final oval event of 2017, starts at 9 p.m. EDT on the NBC Sports Network.

Takuma Satozoom
Takuma Sato
Takuma Satozoom
Takuma Sato
Takuma Sato (Andretti Autosport Honda) Indianapolis 500 winner, qualified sixth today:
“This is a high-commitment racetrack. In terms of top speed, here is a lot slower than at Pocono [where the series raced last week], of course, but in terms of commitment it really helps the driver at the same time. The track got better and better as the sun set and it cooled, but I think we should be happy under the circumstances with sixth and being the top Honda.”
Takuma Satozoom
Takuma Sato

IndyCar Series 2017
Round 15: Illinois

Rank Driver (Team)
1Will Power (Team Penske)
2Josef Newgarden (Team Penske)
3Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
4Simon Pagenaud (Team Penske)
5Ed Carpenter (Ed Carpenter Racing)
6Takuma Sato (Andretti Autosport)
7Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing)
8Carlos Munoz (A.J. Foyt Racing)
9Alexander Rossi (Andretti Herta Autosport with Curb-Agajanian)
10James Hinchcliffe (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
12Ed Jones (Dale Coyne Racing)
13Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
14Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
16Max Chilton (Chip Ganassi Racing)
17Tony Kanaan (Chip Ganassi Racing)
18Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi Racing)
19Sebastien Bourdais (Dale Coyne Racing)
20Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
21Sebastian Saavedra (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.