MotoCross > 2009 Round 14: Netherlands > Race Results
WMXNetherlandsAugust 30, 2009
2009 FIM MX1 / MX2 World Motocross Championship Round 14
Grand Prix of Netherlands, Lierop

Desalle third in penultimate GP outing

The penultimate round of the FIM Motocross World Championship took place at Lierop for the Grand Prix of the Netherlands and Ken De Dycker earned his second MX1 victory of the season. Honda’s highest performer was once more LS Motors Honda’s Clement Desalle as the Belgian guided his CRF450R to third position for his sixth podium result of 2009 across the technical and energy draining Dutch sand.

Clement Desalle Clement Desalle

Clement Desalle

Clement Desalle

Bright conditions greeted the 18,000 crowd as the series worked its way towards a climax. The MX1 category was finalized at Lierop as Antonio Cairoli triumphed but the MX2 championship will be decided at the final MX2 GP of the season, in Brazil.

Desalle had a turbulent first moto as the first of three crashes dropped him out of second position early on. The Grand Prix of Czech Republic winner was able to recover some composure by the end of the 35 minute and 2 lap race distance and finished sixth. In the second race he was more consistent with his speed and rode to a relatively lonely third spot to seal his trophy. From 28 motos he has picked up 12 top three placings.

CAS Honda’s Billy Mackenzie, making his first world championship appearance since the Grand Prix of Germany in June (meaning he had missed four rounds), was 20th overall and showed his natural speed and ability by running with the leaders in the first third of the opening sprint. Lacking bike fitness the former double British Champion dropped back to secure 4 points. He classified outside of the top twenty in the second race. Team-mate Cedric Melotte was unable to race after a neck problem left the Belgian with a lack of sensation in his hands.

After recovering from a back injury and dislocated hip Martin Honda’s Marc De Reuver returned to action for the first time since round four in April. The Dutchman was unable to show any of his old magic on the sand and retired in the first race after a hefty crash. In the second he was able to briefly trouble the top five and eventually take 11th. With the unfortunate leg break suffered by Kevin Strijbos while training during the week French sand specialist Timotei Potisek was drafted into the team once more (he had ridden the Belgian Grand Prix at Lommel recently) and took his CRF450R to a commendable 14th overall.

In the world championship standings Desalle has been guaranteed a top six finish courtesy of just one round and a maximum of 50 points remaining. The 20 year old is fourth, can still rise to third (he is two points away from Philippaerts) and is the only Honda rider in the top ten.

The final meeting on the 2009 schedule will occur in two weeks time at Canelinha in Brazil.

Mark DeRuever Billy MacKenzie

Mark DeRuever

Billy MacKenzie

Clement Desalle, LS Motors Honda:
“I crashed three times in the first moto and the third was really hard; after that it was difficult to be smooth on the bike but I did my best to finish sixth. For the second race I said to myself that I wanted to make consistent laps and not go too crazy. It was a much better approach and I am pleased for another podium.”

Billy Mackenzie, CAS Honda:
“Coming back to Lierop has made me realize just how much I have missed my fitness. I trained so hard over the winter to be at my peak and had trouble to complete a GP this season for one reason or another. I am not surprised that I struggled here and I know what I have to do. I did not expect much from this GP and just tried to keep going but in the second race my legs and back just gave in. I want to end 2009 as soon as possible, get fresh and ready for 2010.”

Marc De Reuver, Martin Honda:
“I wanted to finish the second race for the team. I started well and had the speed at the beginning but I was not fit enough to go all the way through. I made it until the end, which I was pleased about and I could not have expected too much more to be honest. The first race was over after that crash.”

Roger Harvey, Off-road Co-ordinator, Honda Motor Europe:
“Another strong ride by Clement Desalle, even if he did have a dramatic first moto! It was great to see him and the bike again on the podium, so full credit to him and LS Motors Honda. Billy showed his speed and what we and the CAS team have been missing. We know he is far from his limit but it was still positive to see him in back in action. The same could be said for Marc and I was happy for the Martin Honda boys that they had something to briefly cheer about. We hope we can finish the season on a good note in Brazil.”

2009 FIM MX1 / MX2 World Motocross Championship
Round 14, Grand Prix of Netherlands, Lierop

MX1 - Race 1 Result
1 de Dycker, Ken / Suzuki
2 Philippaerts, David / Yamaha
3 Leok, Tanel / Yamaha
4 Coppins, Joshua / Yamaha
5 Cairoli, Antonio / Yamaha
6 Desalle, Clement / Honda
7 Ramon, Steve / Suzuki
8 Nagl, Maximilian / KTM
9 Priem, Manuel / Aprilia
10 Swanepoel, Gareth / Kawasaki
11 Söderström, Tom / Kawasaki
12 Leok, Aigar / TM
13 van Vijfeijken, Rob / Yamaha
14 Krestinov, Gert / KTM
15 Church, Tom / CCM
MX1 - Race 2 Result
1 de Dycker, Ken / Suzuki
2 Coppins, Joshua / Yamaha
3 Desalle, Clement / Honda
4 Cairoli, Antonio / Yamaha
5 Nagl, Maximilian / KTM
6 Leok, Tanel / Yamaha
7 Barragan, Jonathan / KTM
8 Philippaerts, David / Yamaha
9 Leok, Aigar / TM
10 Ramon, Steve / Suzuki
11 de Reuver, Marc / Honda
12 Swanepoel, Gareth / Kawasaki
13 van Vijfeijken, Rob / Yamaha
14 Potisek, Timotei / Honda
15 Church, Tom / CCM
Clement Desalle

Clement Desalle
MX2 - Race 1 Result
1 Goncalves, Rui / KTM
2 Musquin, Marvin / KTM
3 Roelants, Joel / KTM
4 Roczen, Ken / Suzuki
5 Kras, Mike / KTM
6 Verbruggen, Dennis / Honda
7 Guarneri, Davide / Yamaha
8 Klein Kromhof, Ceriel / KTM
9 Larrieu, Loic / Yamaha
10 Larsen, Nikolai / Suzuki
11 Triest, Nick / KTM
12 Monni, Manuel / Yamaha
13 Karro, Matiss / Suzuki
14 Teillet, Valentin / KTM
15 Tonus, Arnaud / KTM
MX2 - Race 2 Result
1 Musquin, Marvin / KTM
2 Roczen, Ken / Suzuki
3 Goncalves, Rui / KTM
4 van Horebeek, Jeremy / KTM
5 Roelants, Joel / KTM
6 Simpson, Shaun / KTM
7 Boog, Xavier / Suzuki
8 Kras, Mike / KTM
9 Verbruggen, Dennis / Honda
10 Aubin, Nicolas / Yamaha
11 Teillet, Valentin / KTM
12 Monni, Manuel / Yamaha
13 Klein Kromhof, Ceriel / KTM
14 Paulin, Gautier / Kawasaki
15 Bobryshev, Evgeny / Yamaha

< MotoCross
Related Links

· Honda Worldwide | WMX - FIM MX1 / MX2 World Motocross Championship
· Netherlands

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.