Motor Sports Topics Return to Motor Sports Home
Top line
WMXAugust 24, 2003
Motocross Championship, Round 10,
Venue ø Gaildorf, Germany

Jorgensen Podium Provides Bright Spot for Honda in Gaildorf

The tenth round of twelve in the 2003 FIM Motocross World Championships was a tough day for Honda. The Grand Prix of Deutschland took place under blue skies and hot sunshine at the Gaildorf circuit where 15,000 fans donned shorts and t-shirts to witness the protagonists of the 125, Motocross GP and 650 classes fighting for Championship glory as the season nears its end.

The 125 and MXGP motos were won by Stefan Everts of Yamaha for the fifth consecutive time and the 650 race was owned by KTM's Joel Smets for his ninth victory of the campaign. The best result for Honda was Brian Jorgensen's excellent second position to Everts in the MXGP event, the Dane's second podium of the year to strengthen his fourth position in the Championship classifications.

Everts dominated the 125cc GP to collect his fifth consecutive winner's trophy in the class. The Belgian, who has now moved up to joint third in the Championship alongside defending number one Mickael Maschio despite only competing in seven of the ten races, grabbed the hole shot and proceeded to disappear. The battle for second was a close one involving some action between KTM riders Ben Townley and Steve Ramon. The latter's rival for the 125 crown, Andrea Bartolini, was also a threat. On the last lap Townley obeyed team orders to allow the Belgian to take the second step on the podium. Bartolini was fourth and as a consequence now trails Ramon at the top of the standings by 27 points with only 50 left to fight for.

Everts remembered his lines and fluidity from the 125 moto and repeated the performance in the Motocross GP face-off. The Championship had just come to terms with the fact that Mickael Pichon would not be able to defend his crown in the final three races thanks to a messy knee ligament injury sustained after a crash in morning warm-up. The factory Suzuki rider had gained pole position with a time two seconds faster than Everts and is still the only other rider to have won a race in the class this term.

Everts then had the impetus to chase his seventh consecutive MXGP success and was faultless in his execution. Brian Jorgensen gained a fine runner-up position on the Tiscali Martin Honda and was aided in his pursuit thanks to a race crash by the chasing Joel Smets, which meant the Belgian had to settle for third (his ninth podium of the year nonetheless). CAS Honda's Josh Coppins was the victim of a first lap collision with Kawasaki's Kenneth Gundersen which left the New Zealander dumped on the hard and bone dry German mud and facing a race carving his way through the back of the field. He got as far as 13th but was running out of laps closing the distance to 12th; he managed to pass Vincent Turpin and then stayed in that position.

Yoshitaka Atsuta also suffered a fall while holding 12th and then endured a hard race on the slippery terrain to take 16th. The third CAS Honda member, Irishman Gordon Crockard missed the GP due to the hand injury he picked up at the previous round in Lierop. 'Crockstar' had his cast removed this week and will see if he is able to compete in seven days time at Loket in the Czech Republic. Stefan Everts now leads the World Championship by 15 points over Smets.

Joel Smets cruised to his ninth 650 GP triumph of the season after entertaining the fans with a four-lap scrap for the lead with KTM team-mate Javier Garcia Vico. The Belgian holds a 29-point advantage over the Spaniard who has only finished lower than second on two occasions and has a 100% podium record. Cedric Melotte had another race to forget. After six top three finishes this season, including his first ever GP win at Namur, the Belgian struggled with a rear brake problem that eventually forced his retirement.

World Motocross Championship, Round 10,
Venue ø Gaildorf, Germany

1 Stefan Everts (Yamaha)
2 Brian Jorgensen (Honda)
3 Joel Smets (KTM)
4 Claudio Federici (Yamaha)
5 Marnicq Bervoets (Yamaha)
6 Kevin Strijbos (Suzuki)
12 Joshua Coppins (Honda)
16 Yoshitaka Atsuta (Honda)
1 Stefan Everts (Yamaha)
2 Steve Ramon (KTM)
3 Ben Townley (KTM)
4 Andrea Bartolini (Yamaha)
5 Mickael Maschio (Kawasaki)
6 Stephen Sword (KTM)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.