Motor Sports Topics Return to Motor Sports Home
Top line
MotoGPBrazilSeptember 20, 2003
MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix Round 12
Rio Grand Prix at Jacarepagua

Rossi Win Gives Honda 15th Manufactures' Title

Valentino Rossi (Repsol Honda RC211V) swept all before him at one of his favourite racetracks and scored his sixth race win of the 2003 season. It was enough to ensure that Honda would become champion manufacturer for the 15th time, with four races still to go. Rossi's ability to lap Rio faster than his peers was perfectly demonstrated when he passed early race leader Sete Gibernau (Telefonica Movistar Honda RC211V) on lap nine. He broke the lap record on two consecutive laps, and left Rio with the new best of 1:50.453 to add to his winner's trophy.

Once past Gibernau only a mistake looked like costing him the race and he won with room to spare in the final analysis, securing a straight six race wins at Rio, four in the premier class. "That was a very, very good race," said Rossi "In the past I have made good races here, especially on the big bikes - it's fun for me and the track is medium fast with long corners, very good for my style. Our set-up was right and the suspension was particularly good. We have had troubles in this area in the past. Now we have a consistent team working in this area and it shows. Today the bike was perfect."

A wonderful day for Honda put Gibernau second and five Hondas placed in the top five. Every single one of Honda's seven entries in MotoGP took a points score of some kind.

Aside from Rossi's excellence Makoto Tamada (Pramac Honda RC211V) was in position to be voted man of the meeting, taking his first MotoGP podium in his rookie season, after a ride through from seventh to third on his Bridgestone tyres.

The only possible cloud on Rossi's scorching raceday horizon was the fact that Gibernau was a safe and confident second, making a perfect recovery from a final qualifying crash. Second in the championship, Gibernau lost only five points to Rossi overall.

MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix Round 12
Rio Grand Prix at Jacarepagua

1 Valentino Rossi (Repsol Honda Team)
2 Sete Gibernau (Team Telefonica Movistar Honda)
3 Makoto Tamada (Pramac Honda Team)
4 Max Biaggi (Camel Pramac Pons)
5 Nicky Hayden (Repsol Honda Team)
6 Loris Capirossi (Ducati Marlboro Team)
7 Loris Capirossi (Ducati Marlboro Team)
8 Shinya Nakano (d'Antin Yamaha Team)
9 Carlos Checa (Fortuna Yamaha Team)
10 Troy Bayliss (Ducati Marlboro Team)
15 Ryuichi Kiyonari (Team Telefonica Movistar Honda)
Left: S.Gibernau/
Center: V.Rossi/
Right: M.Tamada
1 1æ Manuel Poggiali (MS Aprilia Team)
2 Roberto Rolfo (Fortuna Honda)
3 Randy De Puniet (Safilo Oxydo-LCR)
4 Sylvain Guintoli (Campetella Racing)
5 Naoki Matsudo (Yamaha Kurz)
6 Naoki Matsudo (Yamaha Kurz)
7 Joan Olive (Aspar Junior Team)
8 Joan Olive (Aspar Junior Team)
9 Chaz Davies (Aprilia Germany)
10 Eric Bataille (Troll Honda BQR)
1 Jorge Lorenzo (Caja Madrid Derbi Racing)
2 Casey Stoner (Safilo Oxydo-LCR)
3 Alex De Angelis ( Racing)
4 Daniel Pedrosa (Telefonica Movistar jnr Team)
5 Pablo Nieto (Master-MXOnda-Aspar Team)
6 Andrea Dovizioso (Team Scot)
7 Stefano Perugini (Abruzzo Racing Team)
8 Gabor Talmacsi (Exalt Cycle Red Devil)
9 Hector Barbera (Master-MXOnda-Aspar Team)
10 Steve Jenkner (Exalt Cycle Red Devil)
RT Masao Azuma (Ajo Motorsports)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.