Motor Sports Topics Return to Motor Sports Home
Top line
MotoGPMay 25, 2003
MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix Round 4
French GP, Le Mans, France

Gibernau Scores his Second Win for Honda

After Valentino Rossi (Repsol Honda RC211V) had given himself a clear three-second lead at the halfway stage of the 28-lap Le Mans race, a fall of rain brought out the red flags to stop the action. Sportingly, Rossi was the first to raise his hand as the riders slithered on slick tyres in a suddenly wet track. The restarted race was, however, won in fine style by Welkom GP victor Sete Gibernau (Telefonica Movistar Honda RC211V) who fully deserved his second maximum score of the year.

The new MotoGP regulations state that any race halted for rain will be re-started to completion of the full race distance, but only the second leg will count in the race result. Thus RossiÕs first leg advantage was negated and the grid for the restart formed in the positions after the first 15 laps.

A magnificent last lap tussle between Rossi and Gibernau saw Rossi run off the track in his attempt to re-pass the Spaniard and smoke his spinning rear tyre exiting the final corner in an effort to catch Gibernau before the finish line.

It was an excellent performance from Gibernau, hard fought and full of risk. ÒWe could sit here talking about this race until the same time next year,Ó said the drained Spaniard. ÒValentino (Rossi) or Alex (Barros) could have won this race. In the first part, in the dry, Valentino had it won; Alex and I were looking for second place. When the rain came down my team set up the bike perfectly and I have to thank them for that. The last lap from the inside was a great race for us - also for the fans IÕm sure. Even if we were so close together in those conditions, it was a very fair race, everybody behaved like gentlemen. ItÕs just great to have won such a race. IÕm so happy for everybody in the team.Ó

MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix Round 4
French GP, Le Mans, France

1 Sete Gibernau (Telef—nica Movistar Honda)
2 Valentino Rossi (Repsol Honda)
3 Alex BAarros (Gauloises Yamaha Team)
4 Olivier Jacque (Gauloises Yamaha Team)
5 Max Biaggi (Camel Pramac Pons)
6 Jeremy Mcwilliams (Proton Team KR)
7 Tohru Ukawa (Camel Pramac Pons)
8 Noriyuki Haga (Alice Aprilia Racing)
9 Gerry Mccoy (Kawasaki Racing Team)
10 Colin Edwards (Alice Aprilia Racing)
11 Norick Abe (Fortuna Yamaha Team)
12 Nicky Hayden (Repsol Honda)
13 Ryuichi Kiyonari (Telefonica Movistar Honda)
14 Shinya Nakano (d'Ant’n Yamaha Team)
15 Marco Melandri (Fortuna Yamaha Team)
S.Gibernau/V.ROSSI S.Gibernau & V.ROSSI
1 Toni Elias (Team Repsol Telefonica Movistar)
2 Randy De Punet (Safilo Oxydo-LCR)
3 Roberto Rolfo (Fortuna Honda)
4 Fonsi Nieto (Team Repsol Telefonica Movist)
5 Naoki Matsudo (Yamaha Kurz)
6 Sylvain Guintoli (Campetella Racing)
7 Anthony West (Team Zoppini Abruzzo)
8 Alex Debon (Troll Honda BQR)
9 Christian Gemmel (Kiefer Castrol-Honda Racing)
10 Joan Olive (Aspar Junior Team)
11 Hector Faubel (Aspar Junior Team)
12 Johan Stigefelt (Team Zoppini Abruzzo)
13 Alex Baldolini (Matteoni Racing)
14 Hugo Marchand (Equipe de France - Scrab GP)
15 Eric Bataille (Troll Honda BQR)
1 Daniel Pedrosa (Telefonica Movistar jnr Team)
2 Lucio Cecchinello (Safilo Oxydo-LCR)
3 Andrea Dovizioso (Team Scot)
4 Casey Stoner (Safilo Oxydo-LCR)
5 Pablo Nieto (Master-MXOnda-Aspar Team)
6 Youichi Ui (Sterilgarda Racing)
7 Stefano Perugini (Abruzzo Racing Team)
8 Steve Jenkner (Exalt Cycle Red Devil)
9 Thomas Luthi (Elit Grand Prix)
10 Masao Azuma (Ajo Motorsports)
11 Hector Barbera (Master-MXOnda-Aspar Team)
12 Mirko Giansanti (Matteoni Racing)
13 Gino Borsoi (Racing World)
14 Simone Corsi (Team Scot)
15 Roberto Locatelli (KTM-Red Bull)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.