Motor Sports Topics Return to Motor Sports Home
Top line
MotoGPNovember 3, Race Results
MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix Round 16
Valencia GP, Valencia

Barros Takes Final 2002 Season Race Win.

Brazilian Alex Barros (West Honda Pons) raced his RC211V five-cylinder four-stroke Honda to victory at the Grand Prix of Valencia, held at the Ricardo Tormo circuit. Barros was involved in a race long duel with MotoGP World Champion Valentino Rossi, eventually crossing the line 0.230s in front of his rival. Max Biaggi (Marlboro Yamaha) finished third, Daijiro Kato (Team Fortuna Honda Gresini) fourth, with Tohru Ukawa, on the second REPSOL Honda, fifth.

Shinya Nakano (Gauloises Yamaha) took sixth place with Jurgen van den Goorbergh (Kanemoto Racing), the first two-stroke, finishing in seventh.

The 250cc grand prix fell to newly crowned World Champion Marco Melandri (MS Aprilia),. who dominated proceedings from start to finish. Qualifying on pole, he also set the fastest lap to go with his race win. He led from start to finish, only briefly coming under threat from his arch rival, Fonsi Nieto (Telefonica MoviStar Repsol Aprilia), over the opening two laps. Nieto crashed out of the race on lap eight to leave his teammate Toni Elias to attend to Melandri.

But the Champion raced away to win while Elias was to slowly slip down the order, letting Team Fortuna Honda Gresini riders Roberto Rolf and Emilio Alzamora dispute second place. Rolfo won their last lap duel. Randy de Puniet (Campetella Aprilia) was next home, ahead of Roberto Locatelli (Motoracing Aprilia) in fifth place.

Haruchika Aoki (DeGraaf Honda) finished in 12th place, and Jay Vincent (Cibertel Honda BQR) in 14th.

Frenchman Arnaud Vincent (Imola Circuit Aprilia) won the 125cc World Championship by finishing a very close second to Dani Pedrosa (Telefonica Movistar Junior Team) in the 25-lap grand prix. Vincent, who won the opening GP of the year to take control of the championship, had gone to the start line with an eight point lead over reigning World Champion Manuel Poggiali (Gilera), knowing a finish ahead of the Italian would give him the title. But Poggiali was slow away from the line and never recovered. A mistake on lap four compounded his problems and saw him lose six places, and both his race and his title tenure were over.

Pedrosa's victory, his third of the season, confirmed his third place championship finish, in only his second season of grand prix racing.

Pablo Nieto (Master-Aspar Aprilia) finished third after a race long battle with Steve Jenkner (UGT 3000 Aprilia), Nieto's teammate Hector Barber and Poggiali.

MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix Round 16
Valencia GP, Valencia

1 A.Barros (Honda RC211V)
2 V.Rossi (Honda RC211V)
3 M.Biaggi (Yamaha)
4 D.Kato (Honda RC211V)
5 T.Ukawa (Honda RC211V)
6 S.Nakano (Yamaha)
7 J-v.Goorbergh (Honda NSR500)
8 J.McWilliams (Proton KR)
9 O.Jacque (Yamaha)
10 N.Abe (Yamaha)
11 J.Hopkins (Yamaha)
12 A.Pitt (Kawasaki)
13 S.Gibernau (Suzuki)
14 T.Harada (Honda NSR500)
-- K.Roberts Jr. (Suzuki)
1 M.Melandri (Aprilia)
2 R.Rolfo (Honda NSR250)
3 E.Alzamora (Honda NSR250)
4 R-D.Puniet (Aprilia)
5 R.Locatelli (Aprilia)
6 D.Checa (Aprilia)
7 F.Battaini (Aprilia)
8 N.Matsudo (Yamaha)
9 A.Debon (Aprilia)
10 A.Elias (Aprilia)
11 S.Yuzy (Yamaha)
12 H.Aoki (Honda RS250R)
13 C.Stoner (Aprilia)
14 J.Vincent (Honda NSR250)
15 H.Faubel (Aprilia)
1 D.Pedrosa (Honda RS125R)
2 A.Vincent (Aprilia)
3 P.Nieto (Aprilia)
4 A-D.Angelis (Aprilia)
5 S.Jenkner (Aprilia)
6 H.Barbera (Aprilia)
7 M.Poggiali (Gilera)
8 L.Cecchinello (Aprilia)
9 J.Olive (Honda RS125R)
10 G.Borsoi (Aprilia)
11 M.Sabbatani (Aprilia)
12 A.Ballerini (Aprilia)
13 S.Bianco (Aprilia)
14 S.Sanna (Aprilia)
15 G.Talmacsi (Honda RS125R)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.