Motor Sports Topics Return to Motor Sports Home
Top line
MotoGPOctober 6, Race Results
MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix Round 13
Pacific GP, Twin Ring Motegi

Barros Wins Pacific Grand Prix on RC211V Honda Debut - Honda Takes Constructors Crown.

Alex Barros (West Honda Pons) won the 24-lap Pacific Grand Prix, held at Twin Ring Motegi circuit today. Brazilian Barros was making his race debut aboard the five-cylinder RC211V Honda but raced the 230PS plus four-stroke as if he had been riding it all season. His victory also clinched the inaugural MotoGP Constructors World Championship crown for Honda.

Newly crowned MotoGP Champion Valentino Rossi (REPSOL Honda) came home in second place, 1.6s behind Barros. Loris Capirossi, on the second West liveried Honda took third place. This was an astonishing performance by the diminutive Italian riding a two-stroke NSR500 Honda, a machine that is not at all suited to the stop-go nature of the Motegi circuit.

Tohru Ukawa, on the second RCV REPSOL Honda, finished fourth and regained second place in the championship standings. Ukawa now holds a five-point advantage over Max Biaggi (Marlboro Yamaha), who retired from he race when his front tyre delaminated.

Toni Elias (Telefonica MoviStar Repsol Aprilia) won a truly spectacular 250cc race, the first quarter-liter win of his debut season in the class. The young Spaniard outfought championship leader Marco Melandri over a dramatic last lap to take the checkered flag by just 0.175s. Japanese wild card rider Yuki Takahashi (Team HRC Honda), making his grand prix debut, took a magnificent third place.

Elias' teammate, Fonsi Nieto, took fourth place, ahead of the Team Fortuna Honda Gresini NSR250's of Emilio Alzamora and Roberto Rolfo.

Dani Pedrosa (Telefonica Movistar Junior Team) raced to a superb victory in the 125cc race to complete a grand slam of pole position, lap record and race win. Pedrosa crossed the line a massive eight seconds ahead of Manuel Poggiali (Gilera) and Steve Jenkner (UGT 3000 Aprilia).

Pablo Nieto finished fourth ahead of his teammate Hector Barbera and Finnish rider Mika Kallio (Red Devil Honda).

MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix Round 13
Pacific GP, Twin Ring Motegi

1 A.Barros (Honda NSR500)
2 V.Rossi (Honda RC211V)
3 L.Capirossi (Honda NSR500)
4 T.Ukawa (Honda RC211V)
5 C.Checa (Yamaha)
6 K.Roberts Jr. (Suzuki)
7 O.Jacque (Yamaha)
8 N.Abe (Yamaha)
9 N.Aoki (Proton KR)
10 J.McWilliams (Proton KR)
11 R.Laconi (Proton KR)
12 W.Yoshikawa (Yamaha)
13 J-v.Goorbergh (Honda NSR500)
14 J.Hopkins (Yamaha)
15 T.Harada (Honda NSR500)
Center : A.Barros  Left : V.Rossi  Right : L.Capirossi
Center : A.Barros
Left : V.Rossi
Right : L.Capirossi

L : A.Barros (Honda NSR500)
R : V.Rossi (Honda RC211V)
L : A.Barros (Honda NSR500)
R : V.Rossi (Honda RC211V)

1 A.Elias (Aprilia)
2 M.Melandri (Aprilia)
3 Y.Takahashi (Honda NSR250)
4 F.Nieto (Aprilia)
5 E.Alzamora (Honda NSR250)
6 R.Rolfo (Honda NSR250)
7 F.Battaini (Aprilia)
8 S.Porto (Yamaha)
9 R.Locatelli (Aprilia)
10 A.Debon (Aprilia)
11 H.Aoyama (Honda NSR250)
12 K.Nakasuga (Yamaha)
13 H.Aoki (Honda NSR250)
14 R.Yokoe (Yamaha)
15 J.Hules (Yamaha)
1 D.Pedrosa (Honda RS125R)
2 M.Poggiali (Gilera)
3 S.Jenkner (Aprilia)
4 P.Nieto (Aprilia)
5 H.Barbera (Aprilia)
6 M.Kallio (Honda RS125R)
7 G.Borsoi (Aprilia)
8 J.Olive (Honda RS125R)
9 J.Lorenzo (Derbi)
10 H.Nakajoh (Honda RS125R)
11 S.Aoyama (Honda RS125R)
12 Y.Ui (Derbi)
13 M.Fabrizio (Gilera)
14 M.Giansanti (Honda RS125R)
15 A.Vincent (Aprilia)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.