Motor Sports Topics Return to Motor Sports Home
Top line
MotoGPJuly 21, Race Results
MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix Round 9
Germany GP, Sachsenring

Valentino Rossi Wins German MotoGP --- His Eighth Victory in Nine Races in 2002.

Italian Superstar Valentino Rossi raced his REPSOL Honda RC211V four-stroke to victory in the 30-lap German Grand Prix, held at the tight and tortuous Sachsenring circuit today. The nature of the circuit was expected to cancel out the power advantage the 990cc four-strokes' hold over their more nimble 500cc two-stroke rivals. And so it proved to be.

With four laps remaining in the race Rossi was in third place, just meters behind the two-strokes of Olivier Jacque and Alex Barros (West Honda Pons), when Barros fell, taking Jacque with him. Rossi inherited a lead of half a second over arch-rival Max Biaggi (Marlboro Yamaha), and fellow REPSOL Honda rider Tohru Ukawa.

Rossi promptly put in two fast laps, the second a new lap record for the 3.704km circuit, which extended his lead to 0.730s over Biaggi at the flag. Ukawa, still suffering the after effects of his British GP crash, finished in a fine third place.

Rossi now heads the championship points table by the massive margin of 96 points from Ukawa, and Biaggi holds third place 15 points behind Ukawa.

Marco Melandri (MS Aprilia) won his fifth consecutive 250 GP, beating Roberto Rolfo (Team Fortuna Honda Gresini) into second pace in a rain-interrupted race. Sebastian Porto (Petronas Sprinta Yamaha) finished third. Melandri's win enabled him to open a comfortable 23-point championship lead over Fonsi Nieto (Telefonica MoviStar Repsol Aprilia), who was fourth today and dropped a further 12-points behind Melandri in the points standings. Rolfo holds third place, 18 points down on Nieto.

Arnaud Vincent (Imola Circuit Aprilia) won the 125cc grand prix, his second successive victory. The Frenchman had to hold off a stiff, race-long challenge from Alex de Angelis (Safilo Oxydo Aprilia). De Angelis did get past on the last lap and led Vincent as they approached the last corner, but the more experienced Vincent wrong-footed the youngster to snatch the win by 0.108s. Local boy Steve Jenkner gave the crowd of 79,000 something to cheer by beating reigning World Champion and series points leader Manuel Poggiali to the line by just one-thousandth of a second!

MotoGP World Championship Grand Prix Round 9
Germany GP, Sachsenring

1 V.Rossi (Honda RC211V)
2 M.Biaggi (Yamaha)
3 T.Ukawa (Honda RC211V)
4 C.Checa (Yamaha)
5 S.Nakano (Yamaha)
6 N.Abe (Yamaha)
7 J.McWilliams (Proton KR)
8 N.Aoki (Proton KR)
9 G.Mccoy (Yamaha)
10 A.Hofmann (Honda NSR500)
11 A.Ryo (Suzuki)
12 J-v.Goorbergh (Honda NSR500)
13 J.L.Cardoso (Yamaha)
-- O.Jacque (Yamaha)
-- A.Barros (Honda NSR500)
V. Rossi
V. Rossi

1 M.Melandri (Aprilia)
2 R.Rolfo (Honda NSR250)
3 S.Porto (Yamaha)
4 F.Nieto (Aprilia)
5 R.Locatelli (Aprilia)
6 A.Elias (Aprilia)
7 N.Matsudo (Yamaha)
8 F.Battaini (Aprilia)
9 R.Waldmann (Aprilia)
10 A.Debon (Aprilia)
11 S.Yuzy (Yamaha)
12 D.Heidolf (Aprilia)
13 L.Haslam (Honda NSR250)
14 J.Vincent (Honda NSR250)
15 D.Checa (Aprilia)
1 A.Vincent (Aprilia)
2 A-D.Angelis (Aprilia)
3 S.Jenkner (Aprilia)
4 M.Poggiali (Gilera)
5 P.Nieto (Aprilia)
6 S.Sanna (Aprilia)
7 D.Pedrosa (Honda RS125R)
8 Y.Ui (Derbi)
9 M.Kallio (Honda RS125R)
10 G.Borsoi (Aprilia)
11 J.Olive (Honda RS125R)
12 M.Giansanti (Honda RS125R)
13 A.Dovizioso (Honda RS125R)
14 A.Rodriguez (Aprilia)
15 M.Azuma (Honda RS125R)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.