share this page

IndyCar Series 2014

Round 13: Toronto

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
July 20, 2014

Pagenaud Finishes Fourth for Honda in Toronto Race 1

A storming recovery effort from Simon Pagenaud and his Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports team, following first-lap contact, resulted in a fourth-place finish Sunday to lead the Honda-powered field in the opening race of a same-day Verizon IndyCar Series doubleheader Sunday at the Honda Indy Toronto.

Starting fifth, Pagenaud was tipped into an opening-lap spin by contact from seventh-starting Luca Filippi, triggering a chain-reaction collision and a complete race restart, with Pagenaud at the rear of the field. An early, “off-sequence” pit stop from the Schmidt team on Lap 11 allowed Pagenaud to move into the lead when most of the remainder of the 23-car starting field made their own mid-race stops. While in front, Pagenaud clicked off a series of fast race laps, ensuring that he remained in the lead group, even after making a second stop on Lap 40, resuming and finishing fourth.

This morning’s race was the first of two 65-lap races in Toronto. Coverage of the 65-lap “nightcap” starts at 4 p.m. EDT on the NBC Sports Network.

Simon Pagenaud (#77 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)zoom
Simon Pagenaud (#77 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
Simon Pagenaud (#77 Schmidt Peterson Hamilton Motorsports Honda) started 5th, fell to the back of the field after first lap contact, finished 4th:
“I was really upset [after being tipped into an opening-lap spin] but also, I was really lucky that the damage was not too bad and I didn’t get ‘T-boned’. The team did a great job with the repair and also with the pit strategy. Fourth is a very good result, and I think we can win this afternoon.”
IndyCar Series
Round 13: Toronto
Rank Driver (Team)
1Sebastien Bourdais (KVSH Racing)
2Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
3Tony Kanaan (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
4Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
5Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
6Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
7Charlie Kimball (Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing)
8James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
9Will Power (Team Penske)
10Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
11Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
13Jack Hawksworth (Bryan Herta Autosport)
14Carlos Huertas (Dale Coyne Racing)
16Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
17Carlos Munoz (Andretti Autosport)
20Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)
21Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
22Luca Filippi (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
23Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.