share this page

IndyCar Series 2014

Round 12: Iowa

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
July 11, 2014

Munoz Leads Honda Qualifiers in Iowa

For the second consecutive Verizon IndyCar Series race weekend, rookie points leader Carlos Munoz led Honda qualifiers Friday at Iowa Speedway, posting the fifth-fastest speed in his Andretti Autosport. Today’s result follows his third-place qualifying effort last week at the 2.5-mile Pocono Raceway oval in Pennsylvania. Munoz currently holds a 77-point lead in the Rookie of the Year standings – over fellow Honda driver Mikhail Aleshin – and is ranked sixth in the overall Drivers’ Championship standings.

Carlos Munoz (Andretti Autosport)zoom
Carlos Munoz (Andretti Autosport)
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)

Munoz and teammate Marco Andretti were the only Honda-powered entries to record top-10 qualifying runs on the banked 7/8ths mile Iowa oval, as changing track conditions – brought about by intermittent rain showers throughout the day and NASCAR Truck Series qualifying immediately prior to the IndyCar session, caught out several teams and drivers. Saturday night’s 300-lap run, the first of two “short oval” races in the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series, begins with live network television coverage at 8 p.m. EDT on the NBC Sports network.

Carlos Munoz (#34 Andretti Autosport) 5th fastest in qualifying:
“Today the teammates’ help was totally different than the help I had at Pocono, because I was almost the last to qualify [at Pocono], and we were almost back-to-back to qualify today in Iowa. For sure, it’s always helpful [to have teammates] because you have an idea of what the track will be like. It was an okay qualifying. I think everyone gets better as the session goes on. More important is the race tomorrow – it is 300 laps, a long race. We’ll see what happens.”
IndyCar Series
Round 12: Iowa
Rank Driver (Team)
1Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
2Tony Kanaan (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
3Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
4Ryan Briscoe (NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing)
5Carlos Munoz (Andretti Autosport)
6Sebastien Bourdais (KVSH Racing)
7Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi Racing)
8Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
9Will Power (Team Penske)
10Ed Carpenter (Ed Carpenter Racing)
11Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
12Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
13Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
14James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
15Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
16Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
18Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
20Jack Hawksworth (Bryan Herta Autosport)
21Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)
22Carlos Huertas (Dale Coyne Racing)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.