share this page

IndyCar Series 2014

Round 11: Pocono

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
July 5, 2014

Front Row Start for Munoz at Pocono

In a session that saw the existing Verizon IndyCar Series lap record bettered by no fewer than 11 competitors, rookie star Carlos Munoz led the Honda-powered field in qualifying Saturday at Pocono Raceway and will start on the outside of the front row, third, in Sunday’s Pocono INDYCAR 500.

Carlos Munozzoom
Carlos Munoz
Takuma Satozoom
Takuma Sato

The previous qualifying record, 221.273 mph set in 2013 by Marco Andretti, was beaten by everyone from pole qualifier Juan Pablo Montoya – in his first pole run since returning to IndyCar Series competition this year – to 11th-fastest qualifier Simon Pagenaud.

Munoz was the fastest of four Honda-powered drivers to post top-six qualifying efforts in his Andretti Autosport Honda. He was followed by fourth-fastest Takuma Sato, a two-time pole qualifier this season for A.J. Foyt Racing. Two other Andretti drivers, Marco Andretti and James Hinchcliffe, will start fifth and sixth, respectively. Ryan Hunter-Reay will start ninth as all four Andretti Autosport entries qualified in the top 10 at the Pocono “Tricky Triangle” three-turn oval.

Sunday’s 200-lap run, the second round in the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series “Triple Crown” of 500-mile races, begins with live network television coverage at 12 noon on the NBC Sports network.

Takuma Satozoom
Takuma Sato
Marco Andrettizoom
Marco Andretti
Carlos Munoz (#34 Andretti Autosport Honda) 3rd fastest in qualifying, Indy Lights winner at Poconoin 2013:
“We’ve proven we had a strong car all day long, and I think it was even better in the afternoon [qualifying] from the morning [practice sessions]. Third is a great position for us. This is a long race, and we have a great car, so we’ll see what happens tomorrow. It can be tough to pass here. Hopefully, as the race goes on tomorrow, the track will improve and more passing opportunities will open up.”
James Hinchcliffezoom
James Hinchcliffe
IndyCar Series
Round 11: Pocono
Rank Driver (Team)
1Juan Pablo Montoya (Team Penske)
2Will Power (Team Penske)
3Carlos Munoz (Andretti Autosport)
4Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
5Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
6James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
7Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
8Tony Kanaan (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
9Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
10Ryan Briscoe (NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing)
11Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
12Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
14Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
16Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
20Carlos Huertas (Dale Coyne Racing)
21Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)
22Jack Hawksworth (Bryan Herta Autosport)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.