share this page

IndyCar Series 2014

Round 10: Houston

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
June 29, 2014

Honda Completes Houston Sweep

・Simon Pagenaud scores his second win of 2014 in Sunday's 1-2-3 Honda sweep
・Follows Honda win in Saturday's opening race by rookie Carlos Huertas
・Honda drivers claim five of six podium positions on the weekend.

Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)zoom
Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)

Honda-powered Simon Pagenaud dominated Sunday's second race of the Grand Prix of Houston Presented by the Greater Houston Honda Dealers, “double header” Verizon IndyCar Series race weekend, taking a commanding lead in the second half of the 90-lap contest and maintaining his advantage though several late-race caution flags.

It was Pagenaud's second victory of 2014, following his earlier triumph at the inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis in May, and Honda's fifth Indy car victory of the season. After stalking pole qualifier and early leader Helio Castroneves for the opening half of the race, Pagenaud made his move for the lead on a Lap 49 restart. Once in front, the Schmidt Peterson Motorsports driver was never headed, maintaining his advantage even through the final round of pit stops.

Pagenaud's rookie teammate, Mikhail Aleshin, made it the first-ever 1-2 IndyCar Series finish for the Schmidt Peterson team while yet another rookie, Jack Hawksworth, completed Sunday's podium sweep for Honda with a third-place finish for Bryan Herta Autosport.

Honda-powered rookies also starred in Saturday's opening race, won by first-year Indy car driver Carlos Huertas of Dale Coyne Racing, with Rookie of the Year leader Carlos Munoz finishing third in his Andretti Autosport Honda, behind former series champion Juan Pablo Montoya.

Today's double header race weekend in Houston started a run of six races during a four-week period. The Verizon IndyCar Series now travels to Pennsylvania for the July 6 Pocono INDYCAR 500, the second leg of the oval track “triple crown” of 500-mile races.

Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)zoom
Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
Jack Hawksworth (Bryan Herta Autosport)zoom
Jack Hawksworth (Bryan Herta Autosport)
Simon Pagenaud (#77 Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda) Houston Race 2 winner:
“It was an awesome race; the car was just beautiful. We had such a fast car this weekend. It had grip, it had traction and the Honda engine had plenty of power. We regrouped after [a disappointing race weekend in] Detroit and the team came up with this package. Whew, it was really hot out there today, but a great day for the entire team.”
Tom Reichenbach (Senior Manager, Chief Engineer, Technical Division) on today's race win and weekend sweep for Honda:
“This was a great weekend for Honda, with two wins and five out of six possible podium finishes, it just doesn't get much better. In the two-week break since our last race, at Texas, everyone at HPD has been working very hard to improve the performance and driveability of the Honda Indy V6, and I think you saw the results of those efforts this weekend. We're always looking forward at HPD, and it was encouraging to see the strong performances from all of our Honda IndyCar Series rookies this weekend. They're the future of our sport, and we had all four full-season rookie drivers on the podium this weekend! Congratulations to Simon Pagenaud, Mikhail Aleshin and the entire Schmidt Peterson team, and to everyone at HPD. Now let's go out and get another ‘500' victory next week at Pocono.”

Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
IndyCar Series
Round 10: Houston
Rank Driver (Team)
1Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
2Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
3Jack Hawksworth (Bryan Herta Autosport)
4Charlie Kimball (Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing)
5Sebastien Bourdais (KVSH Racing)
6Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
7Juan Pablo Montoya (Team Penske)
8Ryan Briscoe (NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing)
9Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
10Tony Kanaan (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
12Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
14James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
15Oriol Servia/Luca Filippi (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
16Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
19Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
20Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)
22Carlos Munoz (Andretti Autosport)
23Carlos Huertas (Dale Coyne Racing)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.