share this page

IndyCar Series 2014

Round 04: Indianapolis

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
May 9, 2014

Front-Row Start for Hawksworth at Grand Prix of Indianapolis

A pair of rain showers during Verizon IndyCar Series qualifying Friday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, for Saturday’s inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis, resulted in mixed fortunes for several Honda drivers. They included Ryan Hunter-Reay, who lost his best times as a penalty for crashing in the closing minutes of final-round qualifying, dropping him from the pole to third in the 25-car starting field.

Jack Hawksworth(Bryan Herta Autosport)zoom
Jack Hawksworth(Bryan Herta Autosport)
Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)zoom
Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)

Rookie Jack Hawksworth will start on the outside of the front row, a career-best second, for Bryan Herta Autosport, with Simon Pagenaud qualifying fourth for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports after leading the final practice session on Friday morning.

The fourth round of the 2014 season, and first IndyCars on the 2.439-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, starts at 3 p.m. EDT Saturday, with live television coverage on ABC.

Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
Jack Hawksworth (#98 Bryan Herta Autosport Honda) 2nd-quickest in qualifying:
"We started the season out quite strong [qualifying 8th at St. Petersburg and 5th at Long Beach], but haven’t had the results to show for it. There have been glimmers of potential, but we’re not quite there yet. Hopefully, tomorrow is the day when we do it [win].”
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
IndyCar Series
Round 04: Indianapolis
Rank Driver (Team)
1Sebastian Saavedra (KVSH Racing)
2 Jack Hawksworth (Bryan Herta Autosport)
3 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
4 Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
5 Will Power (Team Penske)
6 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
7 Sebastien Bourdais (KVSH Racing)
8 Juan Pablo Montoya (Team Penske)
9 Tony Kanan (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
10 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
11 James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
12 Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
13 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
15 Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)
16 Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
17 Carlos Huertas (Dale Coyne Racing)
18 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
19 Carlos Munoz (Andretti Autosport)
20 Martin Plowman (A.J. Foyt Enterprises)
21 Franck Montagny (Andretti Autosport)
22 Oriol Servia (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
25 Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.