share this page

IndyCar Series 2014

Round 03: Alabama

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
April 27, 2014

Ryan Hunter-Reay Repeats at Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama

Ryan Hunter-Reay bounced back from disappointment two weeks ago at the Grand Prix of Long Beach – when the 2012 crashed out of the race while challenging for the lead – to score a resounding Verizon IndyCar Series victory Sunday at the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama, leading a 1-2 finish for Honda and Andretti Autosport. Teammate Marco Andretti finished second.

Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)zoom
Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)zoom
Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)

In a race delayed more than two hours, after severe storms moved through the Birmingham, Alabama, area just prior to the scheduled race start, Hunter-Reay proved to be more than capable of adapting to changing track conditions throughout the 1-hour, 40-minute event, taking advantage of a mistake by early leader Will Power to claim an advantage he would maintain – except during routine pit stops – the rest of the day. It was Hunter-Reay’s second consecutive triumph at the challenging Barber Motorsports Park circuit, and the first win of 2014 for Honda.

For his part, Andretti gained three positions, from 10th on the starting grid, in the opening lap. Once the field changed over to dry weather, “slick” tires at the first round of pit stops, Andretti’s Honda Dallara became even faster, passing Scott Dixon and Power to finish second, his best result of the season. Simon Pagenaud continued his strong early-season performance, recovering from an opening-lap off-course excursion to finish fourth; while sixth-place Justin Wilson led a three-car formation of Hondas at the finish, just ahead of James Hinchcliffe and Josef Newgarden, as Honda drivers claimed six of the top eight finishing positions.

Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)zoom
Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
Ryan Hunter-Reay (#28 DHL Andretti Autosport Honda) started 11th, finished 1st, 1st win of 2014 and 2nd consecutive win at Barber; 12th career IndyCar victory:
“With the rain and the wet conditions on how we started out there, it was tough. Then we went to the Firestone reds [dry-weather slick tires], and man...on [the still] wet surface, it was really tough just to keep the car on track. Once we got out front, though, we started checking out, and the car was a dream to drive. This is why we race. I can’t thank the team enough. It’s a shame the race ended under yellow, but we won with a Honda at the Honda Grand Prix of Alabama…how cool is that?”
Marco Andretti (#25 Snapple Andretti Autosport Honda) started 9th, finished 2nd:
“I just put my head down and looked forward; awesome job by Andretti Autosport. The Snapple car didn’t have much for Ryan [Hunter-Reay], so we definitely need to hit the drawing board and see how he kicked my butt today. I was driving blind today. I didn’t have a radio, so the only way I knew when to pit was when I saw, out of the corner of my eye, Ryan stop, and thought ‘I guess I’m coming in the next lap’. It was definitely a blind race, but I just had my head down and tried to hit my marks.”
Mark Crawford (IndyCar Project Leader, Honda Performance Development) on today’s race win:
“After showing so well throughout the practice and qualifying sessions this year, it’s great to finally get a win to go with the speed the Honda engine has already demonstrated. The engines obviously worked very well in far-from-ideal conditions in the race. Congratulations to Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti and the entire Andretti Autosport team on an excellent effort and result today. Ryan made it almost look easy out there, but we know it wasn’t! Now it’s on to Indianapolis and lets get two more wins: at the first Grand Prix of Indianapolis and, of course, the ‘500’.”
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
IndyCar Series
Round 03: Alabama
Rank Driver (Team)
1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
2 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
3 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Hamilton)
5 Will Power (Team Penske)
6 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
7 James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
8 Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)
9 Tony Kanaan (Target Chip Ganassi)
10 Charlie Kimball (Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi)
12 Jack Hawksworth (Bryan Herta Autosport)
13 Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
16 Carlos Huertas-R (Dale Coyne Racing)
17 Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
20 Oriol Servia (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
22 Mikhail Aleshin-R (Schmidt Peterson)
23 Carlos Munoz-R (Andretti Autosport)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.