share this page

IndyCar Series 2014

Round 03: Alabama

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
April 26, 2014

Hinchcliffe Heads Honda Qualifiers at Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama

Honda-powered drivers claimed three of the top four starting positions in qualifying Saturday for Sunday's Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park, led by Andretti Autosport's James Hinchcliffe, who will start second for the second consecutive race this year.

James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)zoom
James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)

Teammate and defending race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay will start third, followed by Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing's Josef Newgarden, who also started fourth two weeks ago at the Grand Prix of Long Beach. Will Power became the first non-Honda pole qualifier of the 2014 IndyCar season, posting the top qualifying effort for Team Penske.

Video News Releases from this weekend's action at the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama, are being posted on a new, specially created “Honda Racing/HPD Trackside" YouTube channel produced by Rick Benjamin's Carolina Productions Group. CPG will be providing video highlights packages following Honda Racing/HPD events during 2014. The video packages can be found at: The third round of the 18-race 2014 season starts at 2:30 p.m. EDT Sunday, with live television coverage on the NBC Sports Network.

Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
James Hinchcliffe (#27 United Fiber and Data Andretti Autosport Honda) qualified second:
"It’s great to be on the front row for the second race in succession. We believe tomorrow is going to be a bit of a ‘tire [conservation] race’, so rather than make a last-ditch run for the pole elected to pit and save a lap on the [softer, faster] ‘Red’ tires for the race. Having all four Andretti Autosport cars in the top 10, and two in the top six, is great for the team.”
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
IndyCar Series
Round 03: Alabama
Rank Driver (Team)
1Will Power (Team Penske)
2James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
3Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
4Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)
5Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
6Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
7Carlos Munoz (Andretti Autosport)
8Juan Pablo Montoya (Team Penske)
9Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
10Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
11Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
14Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
15Carlos Huertas (Dale Coyne Racing)
16Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
18Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
19Oriol Servia (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
22Jack Hawksworth (Bryan Herta Autosport)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.