share this page

IndyCar Series 2014

Round 01: St.Petersburg

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
St. Petersburg
March 29, 2014

Sato Supreme in St. Petersburg Qualifying

Honda drivers claim five of top eight starting positions
First race of 2014 season takes place on Sunday

A.J. Foyt Racing’s Takuma Sato claimed the first pole of the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series season, taking command of the final “Fast Six” knockout qualifying session and prevailing in a day filled with rapidly changing weather conditions after a series of mid-day showers soaked the 1.8-mile Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg temporary street circuit.

Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)

Andretti Autosport teammates Ryan Hunter-Reay and Marco Andretti qualified third and sixth, respectively, while yet another Andrettti driver, Carlos Munoz qualified seventh to lead the four rookie drivers in the 22-car starting field. The opening round in the 18-race 2014 season, and the first featuring the new Honda HI14RTT twin-turbo V6 engine, starts at 3 p.m. Sunday, with live television coverage on ABC.

Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
Takuma Sato (#14 ABC Building Supply A.J. Foyt Racing Honda) pole qualifier, his 4th career IndyCar pole and 1st in St. Petersburg:
“It’s a fantastic day for us, you could not ask for a better start to the season. A.J. [Foyt, team owner] is very happy and you all know how difficult that is [to achieve]! We completed an extensive winter test program, for the first time, and I think that is helping us better achieve our true potential. I think tomorrow is going to be an exciting race, with many possible winners. But if we do our job as good as possible, hopefully the results will come our way.”
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)zoom
Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
IndyCar Series
Round 01: St. Petersburg
Rank Driver (Team)
1 Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
2 Tony Kanan (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
3 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
4 Will Power (Team Penske)
5 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
6 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
7 Carlos Munoz (Andretti Autosport)
8 Jack Hawksworth (Bryan Herta Autosport)
9 Ryan Briscoe (NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing)
10 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
14 Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
15 Mikhail Aleshin (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
16 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
17 Carlos Huertas (Dale Coyne Racing)
19 James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
21 Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
22 Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.