share this page

IndyCar Series 2013

Round 15: Sonoma

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
August 24, 2013

Franchitti, Dixon Top Qualifying at Sonoma

Dario Franchitti will head an all-Honda front row for Sunday’s GoPro Indy Grand Prix of Somona after leading his Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Scott Dixon to a 1-2 result in IZOD IndyCar Series qualifying Saturday at the Raceway at Sonoma.

Continuing his late-season charge for the championship, Dixon will be making his second front-row start of 2013, while teammate Charlie Kimball backed up his victory at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course two weeks ago by making the “Fast Six” final qualifying round for the second consecutive race. He will start sixth in his Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing Honda Dallara.

Justin Wilson and Graham Rahal just missed the cut for the Fast Six, but will start seventh and eighth,respectively, with Simon Pagenaud making it six Hondas in the top 10. Sunday’s 85-lap race, the 15th round in the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series, starts at 4:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on the NBC Sports Network.

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda Dallara) pole qualifier, his 4th pole of 2013 and 33rd career IndyCar pole; 6th pole for Honda in 2013:
"All three Ganassi cars are quick here this weekend. The key for us was running just one lap in Q1 [the first round of qualifying] on [soft compound] Firestone ‘Reds’. That allowed us to use the same tires for Q2 and save our final set of new ‘Reds’ for Q3. The grip of the new ‘Reds’ for one or two laps was just amazing, so having a fresh set for the final qualifying run made a huge difference for us today. Obviously, its been a very tough week for everyone at Chip Ganassi Racing, with Floyd [Ganassi, father of team owner Chip] and [team consulting engineer] Andy Brown’s wife Christine passing away. So perhaps this will help a little bit.”
IndyCar Series
Round 15: Sonoma
Rank Driver (Team)
1 Dario Franchitti (Chip Ganassi Racing)
2 Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing)
3 Will Power (Team Penske)
4 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
5 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
6 Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi Racing)
7 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
8 Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
9 James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
10 Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports)
13 Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
14 Tristan Vautier (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
17 Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)
18 JR Hildebrand (Barracuda Racing/Bryan Herta)
19 James Jakes (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
21 James Davison (Dale Coyne Racing)
25 Lucas Luhr (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.