share this page

IndyCar Series 2013

Round 14: Mid Ohio

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
Mid Ohio
August 3, 2013

Dixon Leads Honda IndyCar Qualifying at Mid-Ohio

Scott Dixon led the Honda-powered field Saturday at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, qualifying third for Sunday's Honda Indy 200 in his Target Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara-Honda. All three Chip Ganassi Racing teammates made it through the first two rounds of "knockout" qualifying to take part in the "Fast Six" final shootout, with Charlie Kimball qualifying fifth – a career best for him at Mid-Ohio – and Dario Franchitti, winner of the 2011 race here, rounding out the top six.

Honda-powered second-round qualifiers included Dale Coyne Racing's Justin Wilson, who just missed out on advancing to the final round when a last-lap flyer from Marco Andretti pushed him down to seventh; and Simon Pagenaud, who will start eighth for Schmidt Hamilton HP Mptorsports. James Jakes will start 10th for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, his best start at Mid-Ohio, with Tristan Vautier heading the rookie contingent in 11th for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

Sunday's 90-lap Honda Indy 200, the 14th round in the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series, starts at 3:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on the NBC Sports Network.

Scott Dixon (#9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda Dallara) qualified 3rd, won in 2009 after starting 3rd, won in 2012 after starting 5th:
"Qualifying was a lot tougher than I expected. Even getting through Q1 [the first round of qualifying] was difficult. We had to make some 'on the spot' changes [chassis adjustments] just to get through to Q3 [the third and final qualifying round]. But it’s a good starting spot for us. I've won from the second row of the grid twice before, and we’re in good shape for the race tomorrow.”
IndyCar Series
Round 14: Mid Ohio
Rank Driver (Team)
1 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
2 Will Power (Team Penske)
3 Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing)
4 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
5 Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi Racing)
6 Dario Franchitti (Chip Ganassi Racing)
7 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
8 Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports)
9 Simona de Silvestro (KV Racing Technology)
10 James Jakes (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
11 Tristan Vautier (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
16 Takuma Sato (A.J. Foyt Racing)
17 James Davison (Dale Coyne Racing)
19 Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing)
22 Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
24 Luca Filippi (Barracuda Racing/Bryan Herta)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.