share this page

IndyCar Series 2012

Round 15: Fontana

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
September 14, 2012

Rookie Newgarden Stars in Qualifying at Fontana

After missing one race due to injury, IZOD IndyCar Series rookie Josef Newgarden led the Hondapowered field Friday at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California, posting the fourth-fastest speed in qualifying for Saturday night’s season-ending MAVTV 500.

Newgarden’s qualifying run was his best of 2012, and comes after breaking a finger in a crash with Sebastien Bourdais at the GoPro Indy Grand Prix in Sonoma, California, last month. As a result of the injury, Newgarden missed the Grand Prix of Baltimore two weeks ago, but was cleared to drive his Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda Dallara earlier this week.

Scott Dixon and Alex Tagliani qualified just behind Newgarden, in fifth and sixth, respectively; while Graham Rahal qualified 11th in his Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing Honda Dallara. Saturday night’s season-ending MAVTV 500 starts at 5:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on the NBC Sports Network.

Josef Newgarden (#67 Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda) 4th quickest in qualifying, best qualifying performance of 2012:
“We were pretty flat out [during the qualifying run], and maybe we could have trimmed out the car a little bit more. We weren’t sure about the temperature, and didn’t want to risk too much. Coming into the race, we talked a lot about how I want a car that’s going to be comfortable, reliable and consistent for the entire race. That’s what we’re working on, we want to have a good race car that can run a lot of laps. If we have that, then we can run and compete up front.”
IndyCar Series
Round 15: Fontana
Rank Driver (Team)
1Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
2Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
3Will Power (Team Penske)
4Josef Newgarden-R (Sarah Fisher Hartman)
5Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
6Alex Tagliani (Barracuda Racing)
7Tony Kanaan (KV Racing Technology w/ SH)
8JR Hildebrand (Panther Racing)
9Ed Carpenter (Ed Carpenter Racing)
10Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
11Graham Rahal (Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing)
12James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
15Simon Pagenaud-R (Schmidt Hamilton Racing)
16Takuma Sato (Rahal Letterman Lanigan)
19Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi Racing)
20Charlie Kimball (Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing)
23Wade Cunningham-R (A.J. Foyt Racing)
24James Jakes (Dale Coyne Racing)
25Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.