share this page

IndyCar Series 2012

Round 12: Mid Ohio

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
Mid Ohio
August 4, 2012

Franchitti Runs Second in Mid-Ohio Qualifying

Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti extended his streak of front-row qualifying runs to five consecutive races Saturday at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Franchitti was one of four Hondapowered drivers to make the final “Fast Six” qualifying round, and will start second in Sunday’s Honda Indy 200.

Simon Pagenaud produced his best qualifying effort of 2012, and will start third on Sunday, behind Franchitti and pole qualifier Will Power. Alex Tagliani continues to impress since his Bryan Herta Autosport team switched to Honda power before the Indianapolis 500, and turned the fourth-fastest qualifying time in the “Fast Six” shootout.

Scott Dixon, a three-time winner at Mid-Ohio in the last five years, rounded out the top five in qualifying today. Sunday’s 75-lap Honda Indy 200 starts at 12:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) second quickest in qualifying, his fifth consecutive front-row start in 2012
“Qualifying was a lot of fun. I got everything out of the car and thought it was a pretty good lap, but then I saw [pole qualifier Will] Power’s time and knew it hadn’t been quite enough. If it stays dry for tomorrow, we’re in a great position to challenge for the win. But if it rains, then it’s anyone’s race.”
IndyCar Series
Round 12: Mid Ohio
Rank Driver (Team)
1Will Power (Team Penske)
2Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
3Simon Pagenaud-R (Schmidt Hamilton Racing)
4Alex Tagliani (Bryan Herta Autosport)
5Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
6Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
7Sebastien Bourdais (Dragon Racing)
8Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
9Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
10Josef Newgarden-R (Sarah Fisher Hartman)
11Oriol Servia (DRR Panther Racing)
12Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
17Mike Conway (A.J. Foyt Racing)
18Takuma Sato (Rahal Letterman Lanigan)
21James Jakes (Dale Coyne Racing)
22Graham Rahal (Chip Ganassi Racing)
24Giorgio Pantano (Chip Ganassi Racing)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.