share this page

IndyCar Series 2012

Round 11: Edmonton

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
July 21, 2012

Franchitti Qualifies Second at Edmonton

Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti continued his streak of impressive IZOD IndyCar Series qualifying runs Saturday at the Edmonton City Centre Airport. The Honda-powered Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver posted the second-fastest time in the final, “Fast Six” qualifying round, and will start Sunday’s Edmonton Indy from the pole due to a 10-position penalty for an unapproved engine change in the car of pole qualifier Ryan Hunter-Reay. It will be the fourth consecutive front-row start for Franchitti, a streak that began at Texas Motor Speedway in June.

The final two rounds of “knockout” qualifying were affected by changing weather conditions around the Edmonton airport circuit, as a brief shower just prior to the second round resulted in a wet track for all competitors. The track began to dry near the end of the 15-minute session, leading to constant position changes during the final minutes.

The “Fast Six” qualifying round began on a dry track, but rain again began to fall in the final minute, affecting the final runs from Franchitti; 2011 Edmonton pole qualifier Takuma Sato, who will start fourth; and fifth-qualifying Alex Tagliani. Sunday’s 75-lap race starts at 2:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on the NBC Sports Network.

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) second quickest in qualifying, his fourth consecutive front-row start in 2012
“It was fairly interesting out there. The car was working well, but it started to rain right at the end of the first round, and it was wet throughout the second. But by the ‘Fast Six’ [final qualifying round] it was starting to dry out, and the question became whether to use new [softer] ‘Red’ tires, or run scrubbed tires. We took a gamble and went with used Reds. It almost paid off, as we came within a hundredth [of a second] of Ryan’s time. But we’re starting at the front, and I think we’re in good shape for the race tomorrow.”
IndyCar Series
Round 11: Edmonton Qualifying
Rank Driver (Team)
1Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
2Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
3Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
4Takuma Sato (Rahal Letterman Lanigan)
5Alex Tagliani (Bryan Herta Autosport)
6Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
7Will Power (Team Penske)
8Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
9Simon Pagenaud-R (Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
10Rubens Barrichello (KV Racing Technology)
11Graham Rahal (Chip Ganassi Racing)
12James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
13Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
15Josef Newgarden-R (Sarah Fisher Hartman)
16James Jakes (Dale Coyne Racing)
19Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi Racing)
25Mike Conway (A.J. Foyt Racing)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.