share this page

IndyCar Series 2012

Round 05: Indy500

  • Overview
  • Race Results
  • Qualifying
  • Photo
May 20, 2012

Cunningham Leads Final Honda Indy 500 Qualifiers

Wade Cunningham led the final three Honda-powered drivers Sunday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway as qualifying concluded for next weekend’s 96th running of the Indianapolis 500. Cunningham posted a four-lap average of 223.258 miles per hour in his A.J. Foyt Honda-Dallara to qualify 26th, the second-fastest run in Sunday’s final qualifying.

Cunningham’s teammate, Mike Conway, completed his own four-lap run of 222.319 mph to qualify 29th. Rookie Bryan Clauson, who crashed during his first qualifying attempt on Saturday, climbed aboard his repaired Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing Honda Dallara today to qualify 31st, with a four-lap average of 214.455 mph.

Four Chevrolet-powered entries and two Lotus Dallaras made successful qualifying runs on Sunday to complete the 33-car starting field. The 2012 Indianapolis 500, the first with engine manufacturer competition since 2005, includes 15 Honda-powered drivers, 16 from Chevrolet and the remaining two using Lotus engines.

Activities at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway resume on Friday with the traditional final practice session, known as “Carb Day”. The 96th running of the Indianapolis 500 starts at 11 a.m. EDT Sunday, May 27, with live television coverage on ABC.

Wade Cunningham (#41 A.J. Foyt Racing Honda) qualified 26th for his first Indianapolis 500:
“It's been a long road for me to Indianapolis. I got to the States in 2004, so eight years of hard work and commitment, but this is a very proud day for me. I know my parents are proud, as are all my sponsors and supporters who have helped me through the years. We ran quicker [in qualifying] than we did this morning in practice, so we found a little bit of speed. If we had run that speed yesterday, we would have been comfortably in the first-day qualifiers. I guess we underestimated Indianapolis a little bit and we got ourselves caught out with circumstances [during Saturday’s qualifying]. But we did it in the end, which is the most important thing. Qualifying is not a reflection of our performance, we've been strong in the draft at times and strong by ourselves. So, as long as we make good decisions, now through race day, there's no reason we can't be fighting for a top-10 in the race.”
Roger Griffiths (Technical Director, Honda Performance Development):
“Congratulations to Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing, who have ‘punched above their weight’ throughout this month. The team demonstrated excellent speed in practice and backed it up with Joseph Newgarden delivering our best qualifying performance on Saturday. The team also demonstrated its determination with its rapid recovery after Bryan Clauson’s accident yesterday, to qualify their second car today. While overall, our qualifying results were disappointing, our focus is now directed 100 per cent towards winning next Sunday’s Indianapolis 500.”
IndyCar Series
Round 05: Indianapolis 500 Starting Grid
Rank Driver (Team)
1Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
2James Hinchcliffe (Andretti Autosport)
3Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
4Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
5Will Power (Team Penske)
6Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
7Josef Newgarden-R (Sarah Fisher Hartman)
8Tony Kanaan (KV Racing Technology)
9E.J. Viso (KV Racing Technology)
10Rubens Barrichello (KV Racing Technology)
11Alex Tagliani (Bryan Herta Autosport)
12Graham Rahal (Chip Ganassi Racing)
13Ana Beatriz (Andretti Autosport)
14Charlie Kimball (Chip Ganassi Racing)
15Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
16Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
17James Jakes (Dale Coyne Racing)
18JR Hildebrand (Panther Racing)
19Takuma Sato (Rahal Letterman Lanigan)
20Townsend Bell (Schmidt Hamilton Racing)
21Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
22Michel Jourdain (Rahal Letterman Lanigan)
23Simon Pagenaud-R (Schmidt Hamilton Racing)
24Sebastien Saavedra (Andretti Autosport)
25 Sebastian Bourdais (Dragon Racing)
26 Wade Cunningham-R (A.J. Foyt Racing)
27 Oriol Servia(Panther DRR Racing)
28 Ed Carpenter (Ed Carpenter Racing)
29 Mike Conway (A.J. Foyt Racing)
30 Katherine Legge-R (Dragon Racing)
31 Bryan Clauson-R (Sarah Fisher Hartman)
32 Simona de Silvestro (HVM Racing)
33 Jean Alesi-R (Fan Force United)

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.