INDYU.S.A.August 27, 2011
IndyCar Series
Round 13: Infineon


Race Results >>

Team Penske dominated qualifying Saturday at Infineon Raceway, with defending race winner Will Power claiming his sixth IZOD IndyCar Series pole of 2011 in preparation for Sunday’s Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma. Teammates Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe will start second and third, respectively, in the first Team Penske 1-2-3 qualifying performance since Watkins Glen in July of 2010.

Will Power (Team Penske) Will Power (Team Penske)

Will Power (Team Penske)

Will Power (Team Penske)

Two-time defending series champion – and current points leader – Dario Franchitti will start fourth, followed by his Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate, Scott Dixon. Series rookie James Hinchcliffe rounded out the top six with his career best qualifying performance for Newman Haas Racing. Sunday’s 75-lap race starts at 3:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on VERSUS.

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology-Lotus) Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology-Lotus)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology-Lotus)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology-Lotus)


Will Power (#12 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, 6th pole of 2011 and 22nd career pole; first 1-2-3 qualifying performance for Team Penske in 2011:
“I worked hard for that one. We knew we just had to ‘lay one down’ since starting up front is so important here. Having my two teammates between us and the Target guys is exactly what we needed from qualifying today. Still, as we saw at Mid-Ohio, a yellow [caution flag] at the wrong time in the race and you can find yourself right at the back of the field.”

IndyCar Series
Round 13: Infineon
1 Will Power (Team Penske)
2 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
3 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
4 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
5 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
6 James Hinchcliffe-R (Newman Haas Racing)
7 Mike Conway (Andretti Autosport)
8 Sebastien Bourdais (Dale Coyne Racing)
9 E.J. Viso (KV Racing Technology)
10 Ana Beatriz-R (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
11 Giorgio Pantano-R (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
12 Alex Tagliani (Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
13 Graham Rahal (Chip Ganassi Racing)
14 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
15 Martin Plowman-R (Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
16 Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology)
17 James Jakes-R (Dale Coyne Racing)
18 Oriol Servia (Newman Haas Racing)
19 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
20 JR Hildebrand-R (Panther Racing)
21 Tony Kanaan (KV Racing Technology)
22 Simon Pagenaud-R (HVM Racing)
23 Sebastian Saavedra-R (Conquest Racing)
24 Ho-Pin Tung-R (Dragon Racing)
25 Danica Patrick (Andretti Autosport)
26 Charlie Kimball-R (Chip Ganassi Racing)
27 Ed Carpenter (Sarah Fisher Racing)
28 Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.