INDYU.S.A.June 18, 2011
IndyCar Series
Round 07: Milwaukee

Franchitti Flies to Milwaukee Pole

Race Results >>

Dario Franchitti dominated IZOD IndyCar Series qualifying Saturday at The Milwaukee Mile, topping the 26-car field by almost a full mile an hour to capture the pole for Sunday’s Milwaukee 225. Helio Castroneves posted his best qualifying run of 2011 for Team Penske and will start second, followed by Franchitti’s Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate, Scott Dixon.

Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi) Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)

Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)

Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)

The KV Racing Technology trio of Tony Kanaan, Takuma Sato and E.J. Viso rounded out the top six qualifiers, respectively; while championship points leader Will Power was fortunate to save a big slide on his first timed lap, but lost speed as a result and will start 17th. Live television coverage for Sunday’s 225- lap contest will be on ABC, beginning at 3:30 p.m. EDT.

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology-Lotus) Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology-Lotus)&Tony Kanaan(KV Racing Technology)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology-Lotus)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology-Lotus)

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) pole qualifier, his 25th career pole, 1st pole of 2011, and 1st pole at The Milwaukee Mile:
“I’m really glad to finally get a pole here at Milwaukee. I love coming to this place. The car was absolutely perfect in Turns One and Two, but we had trimmed it out pretty far, and it snapped sideways on me in Turns Three and Four on both laps. I’d asked my engineer Chris [Simmons] to get rid of the understeer we had in practice, and he certainly succeeded! There are so many quick cars here this weekend and we’ll all be going for the same places on the race track. I think the fans are in for a heck of a show tomorrow.”
IndyCar Series
Round 07: Milwaukee
1 Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)
2 Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)
3 Scott Dixon(Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Tony Kanaan(KV Racing Technology)
5 Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)
6 E.J. Viso(KV Racing Technology)
7 Ryan Hunter-Reay(Andretti Autosport)
8 Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)
9 Marco Andretti(Andretti Autosport)
10 Oriol Servia(Newman Haas Racing)
11 Ana Beatriz-R(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
12 Graham Rahal(Chip Ganassi Racing)
13 Justin Wilson(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
14 Alex Lloyd(Dale Coyne Racing)
15 Danica Patrick(Andretti Autosport)
16 James Hinchcliffe-R(Newman Haas Racing)
17 Will Power(Team Penske)
18 JR Hildebrand-R(Panther Racing)
19 Alex Tagliani(Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
20 Mike Conway(Andretti Autosport)
21 Charlie Kimball-R(Chip Ganassi Racing)
22 Vitor Meira(A.J. Foyt Racing)
23 James Jakes-R(Dale Coyne Racing)
24 Sebastian Saavedra-R(Conquest Racing)
25 Ed Carpenter(Sarah Fisher Racing)
26 Simona de Silvestro(HVM Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.