INDYU.S.A.June 11, 2011
IndyCar Series
Round 06: Texas Race 1 Results

Dario Dominates Race 1 in Texas

Race 2 Results >>

Dario Franchitti snatched the lead from pole qualifier Alex Tagliani on the opening lap and went on to dominate the first of two 114-lap races making up Saturday night’s Firestone Twin 275s at Texas Motor Speedway. Although never far out front – his victory margin over teammate Scott Dixon was just 0.0527 seconds – Franchitti led nearly every lap en route to his 28th career victory.

The grid for tonight’s second 114-lap race was set by blind draw at the conclusion of the opening race. Franchitti will start 28th, while championship rival Will Power drew the third starting position. Tony Kanaan will start from the pole.

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) started 2nd, finished 1st, 28th IndyCar victory:
“The car was great tonight, the biggest problem I had was with traffic, especially when the car was sliding around on old tires. That was tough. Otherwise, it was a great night and a strong 1-2 finish for the [Ganassi] team. Now, let’s see what we draw [for a Race 2 starting position]. That’s going to be real important.”

IndyCar Series
Round 06: Texas Race 1 Results

1 Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)
2 Scott Dixon(Target Chip Ganassi)
3 Will Power(Team Penske)
4 Alex Tagliani(Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
5 Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)
6 Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)
7 E.J. Viso(KV Racing Technology)
8 Vitor Meira(A.J. Foyt Racing)
9 Graham Rahal(Chip Ganassi Racing)
10 Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)
11 Tony Kanaan(KV Racing Technology)
12 Paul Tracy(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
13 Marco Andretti(Andretti Autosport)
14 Alex Lloyd(Dale Coyne Racing)
15 Jay Howard(Rahal Letterman Lanigan)
16 Danica Patrick(Andretti Autosport)
17 Justin Wilson(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
18 Ed Carpenter(Sarah Fisher Racing)
19 Ryan Hunter-Reay(Andretti Autosport)
20 James Hinchcliffe-R(Newman Haas Racing)
21 Oriol Servia(Newman Haas Racing)
22 Ana Beatriz-R(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
23 JR Hildebrand-R(Panther Racing)
24 Mike Conway(Andretti Autosport)
25 James Jakes-R(Dale Coyne Racing)
26 Simona de Silvestro(HVM Racing)
27 Davey Hamilton(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
28 Sebastian Saavedra-R(Conquest Racing)
29 Wade Cunningham-R(Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
30 Charlie Kimball-R(Chip Ganassi Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.