INDYU.S.A.April 16, 2011
IndyCar Series
Round 03: Long Beach

Power Rises to the Top in Long Beach Qualifying

Race Results >>

For the third consecutive year, Will Power will start from the IZOD IndyCar Series pole in Sunday’s Grand Prix of Long Beach, as he edged defending race winner Ryan Hunter-Reay in the final minutes of “knockout” qualifying Saturday at the Southern California street circuit to claim his third pole in as many events this season.

Will Power (Team Penske) Will Power (Team Penske)

Will Power (Team Penske)

Will Power (Team Penske)

Hunter-Reay also started second last year, then went on to victory over Justin Wilson. Meanwhile, despite qualifying on the pole in both 2009 and ’10, Power finished second (2009) and third (last year). He won the Champ Car race here in 2008. Sunday’s 85-lap race starts at 4:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus.

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology-Lotus) Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology-Lotus)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology-Lotus)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology-Lotus)

Will Power (#12 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, his third consecutive pole at Long Beach and 18th career pole:
“That was definitely a tough one. Ryan [Hunter-Reay] had me until right at the end, and he was bloody fast here last year as well [qualifying second and winning the race in 2010]. This is one of my favorite tracks. I love it. But just like Barber [Motorsports Park] last weekend, it’s going to take a perfect day tomorrow to get the victory.”
IndyCar Series
Round 03: Long Beach
1 Will Power (Team Penske)
2 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
3 Mike Conway (Andretti Autosport)
4 Oriol Servia (Newman Haas Racing)
5 Justin Wilson (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
6 Helio Castroneves( Team Penske)
7 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
8 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
9 Alex Tagliani (Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
10 Tony Kanaan (KV Racing Technology)
11 James Hinchcliffe-R (Newman Haas Racing)
12 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
13 Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Racing)
14 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
15 Sebastian Saavedra-R (Conquest Racing)
16 Graham Rahal (Chip Ganassi Racing)
17 E.J. Viso (KV Racing Technology)
18 Simona de Silvestro (HVM Racing)
19 Raphael Matos (AFS Racing)
20 Danica Patrick (Andretti Autosport)
21 Sebastien Bourdais (Dale Coyne Racing)
22 Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology)
23 James Jakes-R (Dale Coyne Racing)
24 Charlie Kimball-R (Chip Ganassi Racing)
25 Paul Tracy (Dragon Racing)
26 Ana Beatriz-R (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
27 JR Hildebrand-R (Panther Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.