INDYU.S.A.April 9, 2011
IndyCar Series
Round 02: Alabama

Power Wins Pole For Honda Grand Prix of Alabama

Race Results >>

Team Penske's Will Power led a Penske 1-2 in IZOD IndyCar Series qualifying Saturday for Sunday's Honda Grand Prix of Alabama, with teammate Ryan Briscoe second fastest in his Honda Dallara. It is Power's second consecutive pole at Barber, as the Australian was the quickest qualifier in last year's inaugural INDYCAR event at Barber, and his second pole in as many events this year.

Will Power (Team Penske) Will Power (Team Penske)

Will Power (Team Penske)

Will Power (Team Penske)

The second row of the 26-car starting field includes third-fastest Target Chip Ganassi Racing's Scott Dixon, followed by Helio Castroneves, who will start fourth in his Team Penske entry. Justin Wilson and Oriol Servia rounded out the top six after three rounds of “knockout" qualifying at the scenic, 2.3-mile Barber circuit. Sunday's 90-lap Honda Grand Prix of Alabama is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus.

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology-Lotus) Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology-Lotus)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology-Lotus)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology-Lotus)

Will Power (#12 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, 2nd pole in as many races to start the 2011 season:
“I'm very focused on winning this race. Qualifying on the pole is very important at this track, but so is our race strategy. I felt we had a really good car last year [when he started first but finished fourth, and teammate Castroneves won]. We just made the wrong call on pit strategy. So I'm pretty focused on what it will take to make the right calls tomorrow.
IndyCar Series
Round 02: Alabama
1 Will Power (Team Penske)
2 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
3 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
5 Justin Wilson (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
6 Oriol Servia (Newman Haas Racing)
7 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
8 James Hinchcliffe-R (Newman Haas Racing)
9 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
10 Graham Rahal (Chip Ganassi Racing)
11 Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology)
12 Alex Tagliani (Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
13 Simona de Silvestro (HVM Racing)
14 Raphael Matos (AFS Racing)
15 JR Hildebrand-R (Panther Racing)
16 Mike Conway (Andretti Autosport)
17 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
18 E.J. Viso (KV Racing Technology)
19 Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Racing)
20 Sebastien Bourdais (Dale Coyne Racing)
21 Charlie Kimball-R (Chip Ganassi Racing)
22 Danica Patrick (Andretti Autosport)
23 Simon Pagenaud-R (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
24 Tony Kanaan (KV Racing Technology)
25 James Jakes-R (Dale Coyne Racing)
26 Sebastian Saavedra-R (Conquest Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.