INDYU.S.A.October 1, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 17: Miami

Franchitti Edges Closer With Homestead Pole

Race Results >>

The battle for the IZOD IndyCar Series Championship became even tighter Friday at Homestead-Miami Speedway as Dario Franchitti claimed the pole for Saturday night’s season-finale Café do Brasil Indy 300, closing to within 11 championship points of leader Will Power in their battle for the 2010 championship.

Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi) Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)

Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)

Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)

Franchitti’s pole gained him one more championship point in his chase of Power, the championship leader for most of the season, who will start third. There are several scenarios for either driver to claim the title. Franchitti can clinch the title – no matter where Power finishes – by leading the most laps, worth two bonus points, and winning the race, which pays 50 points to 40 for second.

However, any tie-breaker will give the title to Power, who has five victories this season to three for Franchitti. Saturday night’s 17th and final race of 2010 starts at 7 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus.

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology) Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Racing)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology)

Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Racing)

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) pole qualifier:
“My engineer Chris [Simmons] made some changes after qualifying and my car was beautifully balanced as a result. It felt great. I could take the line I wanted anywhere and didn’t scrub off any speed. That’s the first job of the weekend done. Now, we have to lead a lot of laps and win the race tomorrow night.”
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 17: Miami
1 Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)
2 Scott Dixon(Target Chip Ganassi)
3 Will Power(Team Penske)
4 Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)
5 Dan Wheldon(Panther Racing)
6 Justin Wilson(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
7 Ed Carpenter(Panther Racing)
8 Tony Kanaan(Andretti Autosport)
9 Takuma Sato-R(KV Racing Technology)
10 Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)
11 Danica Patrick(Andretti Autosport)
12 E.J. Viso(KV Racing Technology)
13 Mario Moraes(KV Racing Technology)
14 Bertrand Baguette-R(Conquest Racing)
15 Ana Beatriz-R(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
16 Marco Andretti(Andretti Autosport)
17 Sarah Fisher(Sarah Fisher Racing)
18 Graham Rahal(Newman Hass Racing)
19 Alex Tagliani(FAZZT Race Team)
20 Ryan Hunter-Reay(Andretti Autosport)
21 Vitor Meira(A.J. Foyt Racing)
22 Alex Lloyd-R(Dale Coyne Racing)
23 Raphael Matos(De Ferran Dragon Racing)
24 Sebastian Saavedra-R(Conquest Racing)
25 Simona de Silvestro-R(HVM Racing)
26 Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)
27 Milka Duno(Dale Coyne Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.