INDYJapanSeptember 18, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 16: Motegi

Castroneves Claims Motegi Pole

Race Results >>

Helio Castroneves led a Team Penske 1-2-3 effort in qualifying Saturday for the Japan Indy 300 at the Honda-owned Twin Ring Motegi Circuit, with teammate Ryan Briscoe alongside in second for Sunday’s penultimate round of the 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series championship.

Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske) Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)

Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)

Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)

Primary championship contenders Will Power and Dario Franchitti will start third and fourth, respectively, followed by a trio of Andretti Autosport drivers: Marco Andretti, Tony Kanaan and Ryan Hunter-Reay. KV Racing’s E.J. Viso will line up in eighth, with Dan Wheldon qualifying his Panther Racing Honda Dallara in ninth.

Formula One veteran Takuma Sato thrilled his many fans at Motegi with a 10th-place qualifying effort, the quickest of the three Japanese drivers in the field. Sunday’s 200-lap race starts at 12 a.m. EDT, with television coverage on Versus.

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology) Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)

Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Racing)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology)

Helio Castroneves (#3 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier:
“It is a great team effort. A 1-2-3 start for Team Penske is awesome. These boys deserve it. They've worked really hard, especially on the ovals. I have to thank the guys at the shop as well. All of the hard work has paid off today. Now we have to make it happen in the race.”
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 16: Motegi
1 Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)
2 Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)
3 Will Power(Team Penske)
4 Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)
5 Marco Andretti(Andretti Autosport)
6 Tony Kanaan(Andretti Autosport)
7 Ryan Hunter-Reay(Andretti Autosport)
8 E.J. Viso(KV Racing Technology)
9 Dan Wheldon(Panther Racing)
10 Takuma Sato-R(KV Racing Technology)
11 Scott Dixon(Target Chip Ganassi)
12 Danica Patrick(Andretti Autosport)
13 Bertrand Baguette-R(Conquest Racing)
14 Vitor Meira(A.J. Foyt Racing)
15 Alex Lloyd-R(Dale Coyne Racing)
16 Graham Rahal(Newman Hass Racing)
17 Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)
18 Justin Wilson(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
19 Raphael Matos(De Ferran Dragon Racing)
20 Mario Moraes(KV Racing Technology)
21 Roger Yasukawa(Conquest Racing)
22 Paul Tracy(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
23 Alex Tagliani(FAZZT Race Team)
24 Simona de Silvestro-R(HVM Racing)
25 Milka Duno(Dale Coyne Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· Japan

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.