INDYU.S.A.August 27, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 14: Chicagoland

Briscoe Continues To Roll in Chicago

Race Results >>

Defending race winner Ryan Briscoe romped to his third straight IZOD IndyCar Series pole at Chicagoland Speedway on Friday afternoon, and the Team Penske driver will lead a large, 29-car field to the green for Saturday night’s PEAK Antifreeze and Motor Oil Indy 300. It was also Briscoe’s third pole of 2010 – all scored at 1.5-mile oval tracks.

Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske) Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)

Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)

Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)

Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Dario Franchitti will start second, his 10th consecutive top-five qualifying run this season, with championship points leader Will Power third. Helio Castroneves and Marco Andretti rounded out the top-five qualifiers. Saturday night’s 200-lap race starts at 8 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus.

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology) Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)

Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)

Ryan Briscoe (#6 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, 3rd consecutive pole at Chicagoland Speedway, 11th career IndyCar pole:
“Yeah, it feels awesome; it’s definitely exciting to be on the pole here. We had an unbelievable car today. Hopefully, we’ll have a good race package, too. On a two-day weekend like this one, you have to unload with a quick car and that’s exactly what we accomplished today. We need to follow through tomorrow and bring all three Team Penske cars home 1-2-3. I want to win the race, and the oval title, and help [teammate] Will [Power] to the overall championship.”
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 14: Chicagoland
1 Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)
2 Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)
3 Will Power(Team Penske)
4 Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)
5 Marco Andretti(Andretti Autosport)
6 Graham Rahal(Newman Haas Racing)
7 Dan Wheldon(Panther Racing)
8 Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)
9 Ryan Hunter-Reay(Andretti Autosport)
10 Takuma Sato-R(KV Racing Technology)
11   Ed Carpenter(Panther Racing)
12 Danica Patrick(Andretti Autosport)
13 Tony Kanaan(Andretti Autosport)
14 Alex Lloyd-R(Dale Coyne Racing)
15 Scott Dixon(Target Chip Ganassi)
16 E.J. Viso(KV Racing Technology)
17   Tomas Scheckter(Conquest Racing)
18 Raphael Matos(de Ferran Dragon Racing)
19 Alex Tagliani(FAZZT Racing)
20   Bertrand Baguette-R(Conquest Racing)
21 Mario Moraes(KV Racing Technology)
22   Beatriz Ana(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
23 Justin Wilson(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
24 Vitor Meira(A.J. Foyt Racing)
25 Sarah Fisher(Sarah Fisher Racing)
26 Milka Duno(Dale Coyne Racing)
27 Simona de Silvestro-R(HVM Racing)
28 Davey Hamilton (DeFerran & Dragon Racing)
29 Jay Howard-R (Sarah Fisher Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.