INDYU.S.A.August 21, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 13: Infineon

Power Takes Record-Eighth IZOD IndyCar Pole

Race Results >>

IZOD IndyCar Series points leader Will Power demonstrated why he’s leading the drivers’ championship, establishing a new single-season record of eight poles Saturday at Infineon Raceway as he heads a 25- car field in Sunday’s Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma.

Will Power(Team Penske) Will Power(Team Penske)

Will Power(Team Penske)

Will Power(Team Penske)

After barely squeezing into the final round of knockout qualifying, Power edged teammate Helio Castroneves for an all-Team Penske front row, with his main championship rival – Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Dario Franchitti – starting third. Driving for the new-for-2010 FAZZT Race Team, Alex Tagliani will start fourth, with Ryan Briscoe and Scott Dixon rounding out the “Fast Six”.

Sunday’s 75-lap race, the final road-course event of the 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series season, starts at 5:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus.

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology) Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)

Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)

Will Power (#12 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, series record 8th pole in a single season, 10th career IndyCar Series pole:
“I knew qualifying was going to be really tight. We took a risk in the second round – waiting until the final minutes to put on fresh [soft tire compound] ‘Reds’, and it almost bit us. I had to go back out in the final minute and almost didn’t make the ‘Fast Six’. That’s the toughest single lap I think I’ve ever run, and I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to pull it off.”
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 13: Infineon
1 Will Power(Team Penske)
2 Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)
3 Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Alex Tagliani(FAZZT Racing)
5 Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)
6 Scott Dixon(Target Chip Ganassi)
7 Justin Wilson(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
8 Ryan Hunter-Reay(Andretti Autosport)
9 Tony Kanaan(Andretti Autosport)
10 Raphael Matos(de Ferran Dragon Racing)
11 Simona de Silvestro-R(HVM Racing)
12 Dan Wheldon(Panther Racing)
13 Bertrand Baguette-R(Conquest Racing)
14 Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)
15 E.J. Viso(KV Racing Technology)
16 Graham Rahal(Newman Haas Racing)
17 Takuma Sato-R(KV Racing Technology)
18 Marco Andretti(Andretti Autosport)
19 JR Hildebrand-R(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
20 Mario Moraes(KV Racing Technology)
21 Vitor Meira(A.J. Foyt Racing)
22 Alex Lloyd-R(Dale Coyne Racing)
23 Danica Patrick(Andretti Autosport)
24 Milka Duno(Dale Coyne Racing)
25 Francesco Dracone-R(Conquest Racing)


Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.