INDYU.S.A.August 7, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 12: Mid Ohio

Power Claims Mid-Ohio Pole

Race Results >>

Despite a crash in the morning practice session that put his primary car out for the weekend, Team Penske’s Will Power took his backup Honda Dallara to the pole Saturday at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in qualifying for Sunday’s Honda Indy 200. It is the seventh IZOD IndyCar Series pole in 12 events this season for the Team Penske driver.

Will Power(Team Penske) Will Power(Team Penske)

Will Power(Team Penske)

Will Power(Team Penske)

Dario Franchitti qualified second, just nine-hundredths of a second off Power’s time, with Formula One veteran – but IndyCar rookie – Takuma Sato rounding out the top three in his best qualifying run of the season. Sunday’s 85-lap race, the first on a traditional road course since Barber Motorsports Park in April, starts at 3 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus.

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology) Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)

Will Power (#12 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, his 7th pole in 2010 and 9th career IndyCar pole:
“Whenever you have a crash – and it wasn’t a small one, either – it’s tough to get back in the car and immediately get up to speed. But the backup car was perfect, the guys did a fantastic job and gave me a chance to make up for my mistake this morning.”
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 12: Mid-Ohio
1Will Power(Team Penske)
2 Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)
3 Takuma Sato-R(KV Racing Technology)
4 Ryan Hunter-Reay(Andretti Autosport)
5 Scott Dixon(Target Chip Ganassi)
6Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)
7 Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)
8 E.J. Viso(KV Racing Technology)
9 Marco Andretti(Andretti Autosport)
10 Simona de Silvestro-R(HVM Racing)
11 Justin Wilson(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
12 Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)
13 Dan Wheldon(Panther Racing)
14 Alex Tagliani(FAZZT Racing)
15 Bertrand Baguette-R(Conquest Racing)
16 Mario Moraes(KV Racing Technology)
17 Adam Carroll-R(AFS/Andretti Autosport)
18 JR Hildebrand-R(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
19 Raphael Matos(De Ferran/Dragon Racing)
20 Tony Kanaan(Andretti Autosport)
21 Alex Lloyd-R(Dale Coyne Racing)
22 Danica Patrick(Andretti Autosport)
23 Francesco Dracone-R(Conquest Racing)
24 Vitor Meira(A.J. Foyt Racing)
25 Mario Romancini-R(Conquest Racing)
26 Graham Rahal(Newman Haas Racing)
27 Jay Howard-R(Sarah Fisher Racing)


Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.