INDYCanadaJuly 18, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 10: Toronto

Penske’s Power Tames Toronto

Qualifying >>

Taking advantage of a late-race restart to pass the previously dominant Justin Wilson, Team Penske’s Will Power drove a nearly flawless race Sunday on the streets of Exhibition Place to claim his fourth IZOD IndyCar Series victory of 2010 at the Honda Indy Toronto.

Will Power (Team Penske) Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)

Will Power (Team Penske)

Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)

On a day when many of his rivals fell by the wayside or were delayed by spins and crashes, Power made his only mistake of the day on the opening lap, when he fell from second to sixth in the shuffle through Turn 1 at the end of Lakeshore Drive. Power regained a couple of positions on track, and his Team Penske crew earned him a couple more during the first round of pit stops on Lap 20.

By mid-race, the three quickest cars on track were Dreyer & Reinbold Racing’s Wilson, defending race winner Dario Franchitti, and Power. Franchitti led much of the middle stages of the 85-lap contest, but was passed by both Wilson and Power during the final round of stops on Laps 53-54.

By Lap 60, Wilson had opened up a 3.5-second lead over Power, but the restart on Lap 71, after the sixth of a record seven cautions in the race, changed everything. Wilson spun his rear tires on the run to the green flag, and Power was quick to capitalize, taking the lead into Turn 1 to hold off Franchitti for the victory. Later that lap, Wilson spun without contact in Turn 8, leading to a disappointing 7th-place finish.

For the tenth consecutive race weekend in 2010, all 26 drivers completed the event without a single failure of the Honda Indy V-8 engine. This weekend, drivers and teams logged a total of 8,155 troublefree miles around the classic road-racing circuit.

Following Power and Franchitti at the finish, Ryan Hunter-Reay edged his Andretti Autosport teammate Tony Kanaan for third place, while Graham Rahal celebrated his return to the Newman Haas Racing organization with a hard-fought fifth-place finish. Danica Patrick finished sixth, equaling her best roadcourse result this season (at Barber Motorsports Park).

Dropping to 12th as a result of his spin on Lap 71, Wilson clawed his way back to seventh over the final 14 laps, while Marco Andretti ran eighth to place all four Andretti Autosport entries in the top eight. Rookie Simona de Silvestro had her best finish to date with a ninth-place run, while Dan Wheldon recovered from contact on the opening lap to finish 10th for Panther Racing.

Next week, the IZOD IndyCar Series heads west to Alberta to conclude its “Canadian Tour 2010” with the Honda Indy Edmonton, the fifth and final temporary street circuit of the season, held on the runways and tarmac of Edmonton’s City Centre Airport.

Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport) Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Racing)

Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)

Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Racing)

Will Power (#12 Team Penske Honda) started 2nd, finished 1st, his 4th IZOD IndyCar Series victory and 2nd consecutive win of 2010; the 150th open-wheel racing victory for Team Penske:
“It was tough work out there today. The track was very slippery the second half of the race and I nearly lost it a couple of times at the same place Justin [Wilson] spun. We struggled in practice at the start of the weekend, but the team just kept working hard, never giving up, and here we are in Victory Circle. Man, I just love winning!”

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) started 5th, finished 2nd:
“Not a bad job today. The car was pretty good but perhaps we pitted [for the final time] one lap too soon, as Will [Power] and Justin [Wilson] jumped us by pitting one lap later. This weekend, we just weren’t quite quick enough. We need to improve, just a little bit, for the rest of the road courses this year.”

Marc Sours (General Manager, Honda Performance Development) on today’s race:
“There was a lot of on-track action for the Toronto fans today, including Paul Tracy leading 14 laps in front of his hometown crowd. Although several drivers had problems with the circuit today, I’m pleased that it was another trouble-free weekend for the Honda Indy V-8. Congratulations to Team Penske for its 150th open-wheel race victory today. That’s an incredible achievement for an organization that continues to set the standard for IndyCar Series teams.”

IndyCar Series
Round 10: Toronto

1 Will Power (Team Penske)
2 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
3 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
4 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Autosport)
5 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Racing)
6 Danica Patrick (Andretti Autosport)
7 Justin Wilson (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
8 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
9 Simona de Silvestro-R (HVM Racing)
10 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
11 Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Racing)
12 Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Racing)
13 Paul Tracy (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
14 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
15 Tomas Scheckter (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
16 Bertrand Baguette-R (Conquest Racing)
17 Alex Tagliani (FAZZT Racing)
18 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
19 E.J. Viso (KV Racing Technology)
20 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
21 Raphael Matos (De Ferran/Dragon Racing)
22 Mario Romancini-R (Conquest Racing)
23 Alex Lloyd-R (Dale Coyne Racing)
24 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
25 Takuma Sato-R (KV Racing Technology)
26 Milka Duno (Dale Coyne Racing)
Will Power (Team Penske) & Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi) & Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)

Will Power (Team Penske) & Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi) & Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· Canada

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.