INDYU.S.A.July 3, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 09: Watkins Glen

Penske Powers to Watkins Glen Pole

Race Results >>

Team Penske swept the first three qualifying positions Saturday at Watkins Glen International Raceway, with Will Power winning the inter-team battle to claim his series-leading fifth pole of 2010 in preparation for Sunday's Camping World GP at the ‘Glen.

Will Power(Team Penske) Will Power(Team Penske)

Will Power(Team Penske)

Will Power(Team Penske)

Teammates Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe rounded out the top three qualifiers, as the Penske organization collected its eighth pole in nine events this season. Indianapolis 500 Champion Dario Franchitti was fourth for Target Chip Ganassi Racing, with former Formula One star Takuma Sato producing his strongest qualifying run of 2010 to line up fifth on the grid for KV Racing Technology. Defending race winner Justin Wilson, now driving for Dreyer & Reinbold Racing, rounded out the Firestone “Fast Six” qualifiers.

Sunday's 60-lap race, the first of five consecutive IZOD IndyCar Series road/street course events, starts at 3:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology) Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)

Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)

Will Power (#12 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, 3rd consecutive pole in four races this season:
“That was a lot of work. It's hard work going fast at this place. We had a bit of understeer in the session, but I think everyone was fighting that as the temperatures got warmer today. If the forecasts are correct, it's going to be a long, tough race tomorrow, but we're looking forward to it.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 09: Watkins Glen
1 Will Power(Team Penske)
2 Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)
3 Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)
4 Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)
5 Takuma Sato-R(KV Racing Technology)
6 Justin Wilson(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
7 Scott Dixon(Target Chip Ganassi)
8 Marco Andretti(Andretti Autosport)
9 Mario Moraes(KV Racing Technology)
10 Adam Carroll(Andretti Autosport)
11 Raphael Matos(De Ferran/Dragon Racing)
12 Paul Tracy(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
13 Tony Kanaan(Andretti Autosport)
14 Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)
15 Simona de Silvestro-R(HVM Racing)
16 Ryan Hunter-Reay(Andretti Autosport)
17 Vitor Meira(A.J. Foyt Racing)
18 Mario Romancini-R(Conquest Racing)
19 Alex Tagliani(FAZZT Racing)
20 Dan Wheldon(Panther Racing)
21 Danica Patrick(Andretti Autosport)
22 Alex Lloyd-R(Dale Coyne Racing)
23 Bertrand Baguette-R(Conquest Racing)
24 Milka Duno(Dale Coyne Racing)
25 E.J. Viso(KV Racing Technology)


Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.