INDYU.S.A.June 19, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 08: Iowa

Power Runs To Iowa Pole

Race Results >>

Team Penske continues to dominate IZOD IndyCar Series qualifying in 2010, with Will Power dominant in his four-lap run Saturday at Iowa Speedway to claim his fourth pole of the season. It’s the seventh pole in eight races this season for the Team Penske trio, with Power also qualifying fastest at the St. Petersburg, Barber and Long Beach road courses, Ryan Briscoe taking the pole at the 1.5-mile Kansas and Texas ovals; and Helio Castroneves’ pole run in qualifying for the Indianapolis 500.

Will Power(Team Penske) Will Power(Team Penske)

Will Power(Team Penske)

Will Power(Team Penske)

Although a Penske driver once again took the pole here, four other teams – Target Chip Ganassi Racing, Andretti Autosport, FAZZT Racing and KV Racing Technology – claimed positions in the top seven starting positions, as the IZOD IndyCar Series’ only visit to a short oval in 2010 produced a tight grid, with the top 10 cars separated by less than 0.5 mph.

Sunday’s 250-lap race starts at 2:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus.

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology) Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)

Takuma Sato(KV Racing Technology)

Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)

Will Power (#12 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, 4th pole of 2010, 6th career IndyCar pole, 7th Team Penske pole in 8 IndyCar races this season:
"Well, pole is always the best spot to start the race! But tomorrow is going be a long day. This is a tight track, with a lot of traffic expected in the race. We haven’t won on an oval yet this year, but we’ve been really quick and have been in a position to win, so everything’s going to fall together for us sooner or later. Hopefully it will be on Sunday."

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 08: Iowa
1 Will Power(Team Penske)
2 Scott Dixon(Target Chip Ganassi)
3 Marco Andretti(Andretti Autosport)
4 Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)
5 Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)
6 Alex Tagliani(FAZZT Racing)
7 Takuma Sato-R(KV Racing Technology)
8 Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)
9 Danica Patrick(Andretti Autosport)
10 Dan Wheldon(Panther Racing)
11 Justin Wilson(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay(Andretti Autosport)
13 Vitor Meira(A.J. Foyt Racing)
14 Alex Lloyd-R(Dale Coyne Racing)
15 Tony Kanaan(Andretti Autosport)
16 Mario Moraes(KV Racing Technology)
17 Graham Rahal(Rahal Letterman Racing)
18 Sarah Fisher(Sarah Fisher Racing)
19 E.J. Viso(KV Racing Technology)
20 Simona de Silvestro-R(HVM Racing)
21 Raphael Matos(De Ferran/Dragon Racing)
22 Bertrand Baguette-R(Conquest Racing)
23 Mario Romancini-R(Conquest Racing)
24 Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)
25 Milka Duno(Dale Coyne Racing)


Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.