INDYU.S.A.June 4, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 07: Texas

Briscoe Takes Texas Pole

Race Results >>

Team Penske continues to dominate IZOD IndyCar Series qualifying in 2010, with Ryan Briscoe dominant in his four-lap run Friday to claim his second pole of the season. It's the sixth pole in seven races this season for the Team Penske trio, with Briscoe also claiming the pole at Kansas Speedway, in addition to three more for Will Power (St. Petersburg, Barber and Long Beach) and Helio Castroneves' pole run in qualifying for the Indianapolis 500.

Ryan Briscoe(Penske Racing) Ryan Briscoe(Penske Racing)

Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)

Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)

Dario Franchitti, winner of last week's "500" and the only non-Penske pole qualifier this season (in Brazil), will start on the outside of the first row, in second. Power, Scott Dixon - in the second Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda - and Castroneves round out the top five.

Saturday night's 200-lap race, the first Saturday night event of 2010, starts at 8:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus.

Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas) Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology)

Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Racing)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology)

Ryan Briscoe (#6 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, 2nd pole of 2010, 10th career IndyCar pole, 6th Team Penske pole in 7 IndyCar races this season:
"That's awesome, I've never had the pole here at Texas. Team Penske has a lot of experience at this track, and has always run strong here and for us, it was a near-perfect qualifying run. There's no doubt it will be a long, tough race here with the heat and traffic. But so far this year they tell me I've finished every race in the same position I started, so that bodes well for us tomorrow night."

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 07: Texas
1 Ryan Briscoe(Team Penske)
2 Dario Franchitti(Target Chip Ganassi)
3 Will Power(Team Penske)
4 Scott Dixon(Target Chip Ganassi)
5 Helio Castroneves(Team Penske)
6 Alex Lloyd-R(Dale Coyne Racing)
7 Hideki Mutoh(Newman Haas Racing)
8 Danica Patrick(Andretti Autosport)
9 Mario Moraes(KV Racing Technology)
10 Marco Andretti(Andretti Autosport)
11 Takuma Sato-R(KV Racing Technology)
12 Justin Wilson(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
13 Tony Kanaan(Andretti Autosport)
14 E.J. Viso(KV Racing Technology)
15 Dan Wheldon(Panther Racing)
16 Sarah Fisher(Sarah Fisher Racing)
17 Milka Duno(Dale Coyne Racing)
18 Tomas Scheckter(Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
19 Vitor Meira(A.J. Foyt Racing)
20 Alex Tagliani(FAZZT Racing)
21 Jay Howard-R(Sarah Fisher Racing)
22 Bertrand Baguette-R(Conquest Racing)
23 Raphael Matos(Luczo Dragon/DeFerran)
24 Ryan Hunter-Reay(Andretti Autosport)
25 Mario Romancini-R(Conquest Racing)
26 Simona de Silvestro-R(HVM Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.