INDYU.S.A.May 22, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 06: Indy500

Castroneves Repeats Indy Pole Qualifying Run

Race Results >>

Helio Castroneves continued his quest for a second consecutive and record-tying fourth Indianapolis 500 victory by qualifying on the pole Saturday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. In a new qualifying format for 2010, Castroneves posted the best four-lap average during both the initial qualifying session, from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m., and again during final 90-minute “Fast Nine” qualifying.

As expected, five of the nine drivers to make final qualifying represented Team Penske and Target Chip Ganassi Racing, but surprises in the top nine included Alex Tagliani, for the new FAZZT Racing effort; Ed Carpenter, making a one-off “500” appearance with Panther/Vision Racing, and Graham Rahal, driving for the Rahal Letterman Racing team co-owned by his father, ’86 Indy 500 winner Bobby Rahal.

Helio Castroneves (Team Penske) Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)

Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)

Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)

Drivers yet to qualify include veteran Tony Kanaan, who crashed without injury during his first qualifying run today, and rookie Takuma Sato, who crashed his KV Racing Honda Dallara in Turn 2 during the morning practice session. Another veteran, Paul Tracy, was bumped from the 24 positions locked into the field today, along with both A.J. Foyt Racing entries, driven by Vitor Meira and A.J. Foyt IV.

Qualifying for the 94th running of the Indianapolis 500 concludes Sunday with “Bump Day”, as 13 drivers and teams vie for final nine starting positions in the 33-car starting field. Television coverage will again be carried by Versus, from 12 – 6:30 p.m. EDT.

Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas) Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology)

Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas)

Takuma Sato (KV Racing Technology)

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 06: Indy500
1 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
2 Will Power (Team Penske)
3 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
5 Alex Tagliani (FAZZT Race Team)
6 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
7 Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Racing)
8 Ed Carpenter (Panther/Vision Racing)
9 Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas)
10 Townsend Bell (Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
11 Justin Wilson (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
12 Raphael Matos (Luczo Dragon/DeFerran)
13 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
14 Davey Hamilton (DeFerran & Dragon Racing)
15 Mike Conway (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
16 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
17 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
18 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
19 E.J. Viso (KV Racing Technology)
20 Tomas Scheckter (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
21 Ana Beatriz (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
22 Simona de Silvestro-R (HVM Racing)
23 Danica Patrick (Andretti Autosport)
24 Bertrand Baguette-R (Conquest Racing)
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.