IndyCar > 2010 Round 03: Alabama > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.April 10, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 03: ALABAMA

Power Surges to Pole at Barber Motorsports Park

Race Results >>

Quickest here in pre-season testing, and winner of the first two races this season, Penske Racing’s Will Power continued his steak of outstanding early-season performances in the IZOD IndyCar Series, taking the pole for Sunday’s Indy Grand Prix of Alabama by the relatively large margin of five-tenths of a second.

Will Power (Penske Racing) Will Power (Penske Racing)

Will Power (Penske Racing)

Will Power (Penske Racing)

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing’s Mike Conway will start second, the best qualifying performance of his career since joining the series last season. Three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves will start on the inside of the second row, in third; with Marco Andretti continuing his quick early-season form by qualifying fourth.

Takuma Sato continued to set the rookie pace here at Barber, qualifying sixth in his KV Racing Technology Honda-Dallara, the strongest IndyCar qualifying run yet for the former Formula One racer. Sunday’s 90-lap race starts at 3 p.m. EDT with live television coverage on Versus.

Takuma Sato-R (KV Racing Technology) Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Lanigan)

Takuma Sato-R (KV Racing Technology)

Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Lanigan)

Will Power (#12 Penske Racing Honda) pole qualifier, 2nd consecutive pole in 2010; 4th career IZOD IndyCar Series pole:
"We had to push pretty hard in qualifying, but it’s worth it. I definitely think it will be better to start up front here in the race. With two race wins and two poles, everything’s working pretty well for us right now, but we still need a mistake-free race tomorrow. With a field this competitive, any errors will set you back to mid-field, or worse."

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 02: St. Petersburg
1 Will Power (Penske Racing)
2 Mike Conway (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
3 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
4 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
5 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
6 Takuma Sato-R (KV Racing Technology)
7 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
8 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Autosport)
9 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
10 E.J. Viso (KV Racing Technology)
11 Justin Wilson (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
12 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
13 Simona de Silvestro-R (HVM Racing)
14 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
15 Graham Rahal (Sarah Fisher Racing)
16 Alex Lloyd-R (Dale Coyne Racing)
17 Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Lanigan)
18 Raphael Matos (Luczo Dragon/DeFerran)
19 Danica Patrick (Andretti Autosport)
20 Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Racing)
21 Alex Tagliani (FAZZT Race Team)
22 Mario Romancini-R (Conquest Racing)
23 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
24 Milka Duno (Dale Coyne Racing)
25 Bertrand Baguette-R (Conquest Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.