INDYU.S.A.March 27, 2010
IndyCar Series
Round 02: St. Petersburg

Power Nails St. Petersburg Pole

Race Results >>

Will Power’s early domination of the IZOD IndyCar Series continued Saturday in St. Petersburg, Florida, as the Team Penske driver followed up his victory two weeks ago at the season-opening race in Brazil by qualifying on the pole for Sunday’s Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

Will Power (Penske Racing) Will Power (Penske Racing)

Will Power (Penske Racing)

Will Power (Penske Racing)

Power, who was quickest in Friday’s practice sessions, headed off all challengers throughout the three rounds of IndyCar “knockout” qualifying, nearly three-tenths of a second clear of Andretti Autosport’s Tony Kanaan. Scott Dixon will start third for Target/Chip Ganassi Racing while Justin Wilson continues to impress with the resurgent Dreyer & Reinbold team, with a fourth-place qualifying effort.

Helio Castroneves and Marco Andretti rounded out the top six qualifiers. Demonstrating the depth of this year’s IndyCar field, last year’s race winner, Ryan Briscoe, could only manage 19th on the grid, while defending series champion Dario Franchitti will start 13th. Sunday’s 100-lap race is scheduled for 3:30 pm EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Takuma Sato-R (KV Racing Technology) Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Lanigan)

Takuma Sato-R (KV Racing Technology)

Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Lanigan)

Will Power (#12 Penske Racing Honda) pole qualifier, 1st pole of 2010:
"I really enjoy the IndyCar qualifying format, it’s one of my favorite times of the weekend. Full credit to my guys, the car was just about perfect, and we’ve had great pace all weekend. Now it’s up to me to get the job done tomorrow."

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 02: St. Petersburg
1 Will Power (Penske Racing)
2 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Autosport)
3 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Justin Wilson (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
5 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
6 Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport)
7 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
8 Alex Tagliani (FAZZT Race Team)
9 E.J. Viso (KV Racing Technology)
10 Mike Conway (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
11 Takuma Sato-R (KV Racing Technology)
12 Hideki Mutoh (Newman Haas Lanigan)
13 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
14 Simona de Silvestro-R (HVM Racing)
15 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
16 Graham Rahal (Sarah Fisher Racing)
17 Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Racing)
18 Mario Romancini-R (Conquest Racing)
19 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
20 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
21 Danica Patrick (Andretti Autosport)
22 Alex Lloyd-R (Dale Coyne Racing)
23 Raphael Matos (Luczo Dragon/DeFerran)
24 Milka Duno (Dale Coyne Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.