IndyCar > 2009 Round 15: Chicagoland > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.August 28, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 15: Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet

Briscoe Claims Chicagoland Pole

Race Results >>

IndyCar Series points leader Ryan Briscoe added one more vital point to his total Friday at ChicagolandSpeedway, qualifying on the pole for Saturday night’s PEAK Indy 300. The championship point heearned for the pole gives Briscoe a five-point lead, 498-493, over Dario Franchitti, with three racesremaining.

Defending race winner Helio Castroneves qualified second, alongside teammate Briscoe, to make it anall-Team Penske front row. Franchitti qualified third for Target Chip Ganassi Racing, with his teammateand remaining title challenger, Scott Dixon, in sixth. Andretti Green Racing’s Tony Kanaan posted hisbest qualifying run since Milwaukee to line up fourth, with Graham Rahal fifth for the Newman HaasLanigan Racing team.

Saturday night’s 200-lap race, the first of three oval races that will close out the 2009 IndyCar season, starts at 10 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus.

Ryan Briscoe (#6 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, his fourth pole of 2009 and 8th career IndyCar pole:
“Obviously, it was a good run. Today, it really helped to be at the back of the [qualifying]
line. I heard from [teammate] Helio [Castroneves, who had qualified earlier] on how his car was working and the track conditions, and that certainly helped me prepare for my run. All four [qualifying] laps were really strong. I had to make just a few adjustments to keep the front end ‘under the car’, but it was a pretty smooth run -- and one more championship point.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 15: Chicagoland Speedway, Joliet
1 Ryan Briscoe (Team penske)
2 Helio Castroneves (Team penske)
3 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
5 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
6 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
7 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
8 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
9 Oriol Servia (Newman Haas Lanigan)
10 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
11 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
12 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
13 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
14 Tomas Scheckter (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
15 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
16 Mike Conway (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
17 Raphael Matos (Luczo Dragon Racing)
18 Ryan Hunter-Reay (A.J. Foyt Racing)
19 Sarah Fisher (Sarah Fisher Racing)
20 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
21 Milka Duno (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
22 Robert Doornbos (HVM Racing)
23 Jaques Lazier (Curb/Agajanian/Team 3G)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.