IndyCar > 2009 Round 13: Mid-Ohio > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.August 8, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 13: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Mid-Ohio

Briscoe, Wilson, Qualify 1-2 at Mid-Ohio

Race Results >>

Team Penske’s Ryan Briscoe and Dale Coyne Racing’s Justin Wilson qualified 1-2 aturday at the Mid- Ohio Sports Car Course for Sunday’s Honda Indy 200, the second time in as many events this season for the pair to have done so on a traditional road course.

In July, Briscoe took the pole at Watkins Glen International Raceway, with Wilson qualifying second. In the race Wilson claimed the victory -- the first for Dale Coyne Racing -- after holding off Briscoe during the final half-dozen laps. Today’s qualifying action at the 2.5-mile Mid-Ohio circuit sets up a possible rematch in Sunday’s 85-lap event.

Quickest in practice on Friday, Scott Dixon will line up third, with local favorite Graham Rahal on the outside front row in fourth. Helio Castroneves and Dario Franchitti rounded out today’s Firestone “Fast Six” qualifiers.

Sunday’s race starts at 1:45 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus starting at 1 p.m.

Ryan Briscoe (#6 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, his third pole of 2009, seventh career IndyCar pole:
“Qualifying today really came down to tire management. We were able to save a set of [alternate, softer] ‘Red’ tires in the first [qualifying] round, and that was to our benefit in the final round. Our car has been getting better as we’ve adapted to the track conditions this weekend. But it will be hotter tomorrow and, once again, it will be a tough battle at the front.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 13: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Mid-Ohio
1 Ryan Briscoe (Team penske)
2 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
3 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
5 Helio Castroneves (Team penske)
6 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
7 Ryan Hunter-Reay (A.J. Foyt Racing)
8 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
9 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
10 Paul Tracy (KV Racing Technology)
11 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
12 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
13 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
14 Oriol Servia (Newman Haas Lanigan)
15 Raphael Matos-R (Luczo Dragon Racing)
16 Mike Conway-R (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
17 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
18 Robert Doornbos-R (HVM Racing)
19 Richard Antinucci-R (Team 3G)
20 Milka Duno (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
21 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.