IndyCar > 2009 Round 12: Kentucky > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.July 31, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 12: Kentucky Speedway, Kentucky

“Weepers” Cancel Kentucky Qualifying

Race Results >>

Persistent “weepers” -- water seeping up through the track surface -- forced IndyCar Series officials to cancel qualifying and all other track activities Friday at Kentucky Speedway, setting the grid for Saturday night’s Meijer Indy 300 based on team entrant points.

More than five inches of rain has fallen in northern Kentucky during the past two days, and underground runoff from the storms bubbled up through the track surface in Turn 4 throughout the day, keeping both IndyCars and the Indy Lights support series off the track.

Scott Dixon, winner three races this season, will start from the pole, with his Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate and fellow three-race winner Dario Franchitti starting on the outside of the first row in second. Team Penske’s Ryan Briscoe and Helio Castroneves make up the second row; with the Andretti Green Racing duo of Danica Patrick and Marco Andretti starting fifth and sixth, respectively.

Practice sessions for both series have been added for Saturday afternoon. Saturday night’s 200-lap race starts at 8:45 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on the Versus Network starting at 8 p.m. EDT.

Scott Dixon (#4 Panther Racing Honda) will start from pole:
“Definitely, we’ll take a pole any way we can get it, but we certainly would prefer qualifying [on track]. It’s great to have my teammate alongside. We did well here last year [winning the 2008 race] and our car has been strong all season on the mileand- a-half tracks, so I think we’re in pretty good shape for the race.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 12: Kentucky Speedway (1.5-mile oval) , KY
1 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
2 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
3 Ryan Briscoe (Team penske)
4 Helio Castroneves (Team penske)
5 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
6 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
7 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
8 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
9 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
10 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
11 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
12 Robert Doornbos-R (Newman Haas Lanigan)
13 Raphael Matos-R (Luczo Dragon Racing)
14 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
15 Milka Duno (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
16 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
17 Ryan Hunter-Reay (A.J. Foyt Racing)
18 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
19 Mike Conway-R (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
20 Will Power (Team penske)
21 Jaques Lazier (Curb/Agajanian/Team 3G)
22 Sarah Fisher (Sarah Fisher Racing)
23 Tomas Scheckter (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.