IndyCar > 2009 Round 11: Edmonton > Qualifying
INDYCanadaJuly 25, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 11: Edmonton City Centre Airport, Edmonton

Power Leads Penske Edmonton Qualifying Sweep

Race Results >>

Will Power led a 1-2-3 sweep for Team Penske in IndyCar Series qualifying Saturday at the Edmonton City Centre Airport temporary circuit for Sunday's Rexall Edmonton Indy. Power, who is driving a third Penske entry in a limited schedule, headed teammates Ryan Briscoe and Helio Castroneves.

It is Power's second Edmonton pole -- he also was fastest qualifier for the Champ Car race here in 2007 -- and his second IndyCar pole, the first coming at Long Beach in April.

Defending race winner Scott Dixon will start fourth for Target Chip Ganassi Racing, while Graham Rahal qualified fifth in his Newman Haas Lanigan Racing Honda Dallara. Making his first appearance at Edmonton, current IndyCar Series points leader Dario Franchitti rounded out the Firestone “Fast Six” qualifiers today.

Sunday's race starts at 6 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on Versus.

Will Power (#12 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, his second pole of 2009:
“This qualifying format is exhausting. It's almost like a race, with strategy, timing and some really hard driving through all three segments. My guys are fantastic. They may not be here every weekend [Power runs a partial schedule] but they're ‘Penske material' -- and that’s as good as you get.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 11: City Centre Airport(1.98-mile temporary circuit)
Edmonton, Alb., Canada
1 Will Power (Team penske)
2 Ryan Briscoe (Team penske)
3 Helio Castroneves (Team penske)
4 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
5 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
6 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
7 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
8 Raphael Matos-R (Luczo Dragon Racing)
9 Paul Tracy (KV Racing Technology)
10 Robert Doornbos-R (Newman Haas Lanigan)
11 Mike Conway-R (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
12 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
13 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
14 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
15 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
16 Tomas Scheckter (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
17 Alex Tagliani (Conquest Racing)
18 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
19 Richard Antinucci-R (Team 3G)
20 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
21 Ryan Hunter-Reay (A.J. Foyt Racing)
22 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
23 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· Canada

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.