IndyCar > 2009 Round 10: Toronto > Qualifying
INDYCanadaJuly 11, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 10: Toronto, Canada

Franchitti Defeats Upstarts for Toronto Pole

Race Results >>

Veteran and previous event winner [CART in 1999] Dario Franchitti successfully withstood the attempts of several potential “underdog” challengers Saturday on the streets of Exhibition Place to claim the pole for Sunday’s Honda Indy Toronto.

Franchitti, who has claimed the pole here twice before in CART competition [1997-’98], spoiled the efforts of the three “small team” drivers who had advanced through the first two rounds of IndyCar Series knockout qualifying, including local favorite Alex Tagliani, rookie Mike Conway and Justin Wilson, winner of last week’s race at Watkins Glen.

Others to make it to the final qualifying round included Will Power, who will start second for Team Penske; and Newman Haas Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal, who will start his McDonald’s Honda from third. Sunday’s race starts at 1 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) pole qualifier, his 3rd pole of 2009, 9th career IndyCar pole:
“I got my first [CART] pole here in 1997, and that was a long time ago! I spent some time this morning thinking about that, and trying to remember what I had done back then. It’s the same old Toronto. The concrete patches here haven’t ‘gained‘ any grip over the years, let’s put it that way. But I love coming here, it’s definitely a challenging circuit, unlike any other on the schedule. I finally got in a good rhythm in the first qualifying session, and that made a huge difference. In the [final] ‘Fast 6‘ session, I did one hot lap early on that was very, very good. So, I came in and parked it, thinking ‘If anyone can beat that time, have at it, boys!’ Obviously, it held up and here we are.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 10: Canadian National Exposition (1.755-mile temporary street circuit)
Toronto, Canada
1 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
2 Will Power (Team Penske)
3 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
4 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
5 Alex Tagliani (Conquest Racing)
6 Mike Conway-R (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
7 Robert Doornbos-R (Newman Haas Lanigan)
8 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
9 Raphael Matos-R (Luczo Dragon Racing)
10 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
11 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay (A.J. Foyt Racing)
13 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
14 Tomas Scheckter (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
15 Paul Tracy (KV Racing Technology)
16 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
17 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
18 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
19 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
20 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
21 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
22 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
23 Richard Antinucci-R (Team 3G)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· Canada

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.