IndyCar > 2009 Round 09: WatkinsGlen > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.July 4, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 09: Watkins Glen, NY

Briscoe Secures Watkins Glen Pole

Race Results >>

Posting what would prove to be the pole lap in the opening minutes of final qualifying, Ryan Briscoe claimed the top starting position Saturday at Watkins Glen International Raceway in preparation for Sunday’s Camping World GP at The Glen.

With the drop of the green flag for the third and final round of Firestone “Fast Six” knockout qualifying, Briscoe left pit lane on the same softer “Red” tires he had used in the previous round. His quick lap of 136.935 mph around the historic, upstate New York road course became the pole speed when, moments later, rival Dario Franchitti crashed heavily, but without injury, into the Turn 11 tire wall.

Cleanup from the Franchitti wreck consumed much of the remaining time in the 15-minute session, and prevented any serious challenges to Briscoe. Still, Justin Wilson was pleased to put his Dale Coyne Racing Honda ahead of many larger, better funded teams with his second-place effort, with previous three-time Glen winner Scott Dixon, third. Sunday’s 60-lap race starts at 1:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Ryan Briscoe (#6 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, 2nd pole of 2009; 6th career IndyCar pole:
“I went out [for Fast Six final qualifying] on hot tires, so I wanted to post a [quick] lap time before they went off. So, when the red flag came out [stopping the session for Franchitti’s crash], it definitely worked to my advantage. Tomorrow’s race will be interesting. The option [softer compound] ‘Red’ tires give much, much better grip around this track, but will they last for an entire fuel run in the race? I guess we’ll find out on Sunday.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 09: Watkins Glen International Raceway (3.37-mile road course)
Watkins Glen, NY
1 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
2 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
3 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
5 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
6 Mike Conway-R (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
7 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
8 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
9 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
10 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
11 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
12 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
13 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
14 Paul Tracy (KV Racing Technology)
15 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
16 Ryan Hunter-Reay (A.J. Foyt Racing)
17 Robert Doornbos-R (Newman Haas Lanigan)
18 Raphael Matos-R (Luczo Dragon Racing)
19 Milka Duno (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
20 Richard Antinucci-R (Team 3G)
21 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.