IndyCar > 2009 Round 05 : Milwaukee > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.May 30, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 05 : The Milwaukee Mile, Milwaukee

Briscoe, Castroneves Bracket Milwaukee Field

Race Results >>

It was both feast and famine for Team Penske Saturday at The Milwaukee Mile, as Ryan Briscoe qualified on the pole for Sunday’s ABC Building Supply/A.J. Foyt 225, but teammate and last week’s Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves crashed in Turn 2 at the start of his qualifying run and will start at the rear of the 20-car field.

For the second consecutive year, Graham Rahal will start on the outside of the front row of this historic, flat, one-mile oval, after qualifying second for Newman Haas Lanigan Racing. Still stiff and sore from his massive crash last week at Indy, Andretti Green Racing’s Tony Kanaan will start third, with defending series champion Scott Dixon qualifying fourth.

Also bouncing back from a crash at the Indy 500, Mario Moraes qualified fifth, with Hideki Mutoh, always strong on the IndyCar Series’ short ovals, rounding out the top six qualifiers. Sunday’s 225-lap race starts at 3:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Ryan Briscoe (#6 Team Penske Honda) pole qualifier, his first pole of 2009, fifth career IndyCar Series pole:
“I knew when I qualified ahead of [Graham] Rahal, it was going to be fast. He seems to get around this place pretty good, and was on the front row last year. I was a bit worried about Helio [Castroneves] and the Target team, but thankfully the time held up. We won from 11th [on the grid] last year, so starting up front should keep me away from the chaos that always seems to happen here in the first few laps. I had a great race car here last year, so hopefully we can repeat tomorrow.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 04: Indy500, Indianapolis Motor Speedway Pole Day Qualifying
1 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
2 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
3 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
4 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
5 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technoloty)
6 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
7 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
8 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
9 Raphael Matos-R (Luczo Dragon Racing)
10 Tomas Scheckter (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
11 Mike Conway-R (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
12 Robert Doornbos-R (Newman Haas Lanigan)
13 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
14 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
15 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
16 Paul Tracy (A.J. Foyt Racing)
17 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
18 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Vision Racing)
19 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
20 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
21 Stanton Barrett-R (Curb/Agajanian/Team 3G)
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.