IndyCar > 2009 Round 04: Indy500 > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.May 16, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 04: Indy500, Indianapolis Motor Speedway 3rd Day Qualifying
Doornbos Leads Third-Day Indy Qualifiers Race Results >>

Rookie Robert Doornbos led third-day qualifiers Saturday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, posting a four-lap average of 221.692 mph for the 23rd starting position, as 11 qualifiers filled the traditional 33-car starting field for the 2009 Indianapolis 500.

At least three more drivers -- former “500” winner Buddy Lazier, race rookie Stanton Barrett and late entry Bruno Junqueira -- will attempt to “Bump” their way into the the race as qualifying concludes Sunday with “Bump Day final qualifying. Live flag-to-flag television coverage will be provided by The Versus Network from 12 -6:30 p.m. EDT.

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 04: Indy500, Indianapolis Motor Speedway 3nd Day Qualifying
1 Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
2 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
3 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
4 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
5 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
6 Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
7 Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
8 Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
9 Will Power (Team Penske)
10 Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
11 Alex Lloyd (Chip Ganassi Racing Sam Schmidt Motorsports)
12 Raphael Matos (Luczo Dragon Racing)
13 Paul Tracy (KV Racing Techology)
14 Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Racing)
15 Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
16 Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
17 Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
18 Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
19 A.J. Foyt IV (A.J. Foyt Racing)
20 Scott Sharp (Panther Racing)
21 Sarah Fisher (Sarah Fisher Racing)
22 Davey Hamilton (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
23 Robert Doornbos (Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing)
24 Townsend Bell (KV Racing Technology)
25 Oriol Servia (Rahal Letterman Racing)
26 Alex Tagliani(Conquest Racing)
27 Tomas Scheckter (Dale Coyne Racing)
28 Mike Conway (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
29 E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
30 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Vision Racing)
31 John Andretti (Richard Petty Motorsports/
Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
32 Milka Duno (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
33 Nelson Philippe (HVM Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.