IndyCar > 2009 Round 03: Kansas City > Race Results
INDYU.S.A.April 25, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 03: Honda Grand Prix of Kansas Speedway, Kansas City

Rahal Takes First Oval Pole in Kansas

Race Results >>

Always a threat on the street and road courses on the IndyCar Series circuit, Graham Rahal and his Newman Haas Lanigan team have now firmly established their high-speed oval-track credentials, taking the pole Saturday at Kansas Speedway in qualifying for Sunday’s Road Runner Turbo Indy 300.

It will be a 1-2 start for the Newman Haas Lanigan team after the runs of the second- and third-fastest qualifiers -- Dario Franchitti and Helio Castroneves -- were disallowed for putting their left-side tires “out of bounds”, below the white line separating the race track from the infield apron. Franchitti and Castroneves now will start at the rear of the 22-car field.

Sunday’s 200-lap race, IndyCar’s first oval race of 2009, starts at 5 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on The Versus Network starting at 4 p.m. EDT.

Graham Rahal (#02 McDonalds Newman Haas Lanigan Racing Honda) pole qualifier, his second pole of 2009, career first IndyCar oval pole:
“Today’s result just shows what this team has accomplished in the off-season. The difference between qualifying [14th] at Chicagoland [the final oval race of 2008] and qualifying here today is incredible. The car was excellent, even though I could definitely feel the wind out there, the car stayed free and fast. That’s two poles in three races for us. I don’t think anyone expected it, but we’ll take it!”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 03: Honda Grand Prix of Kansas Speedway, Kansas City
1 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
2 Robert Doornbos (Newman Haas Lanigan)
3Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
4 Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
5Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
6Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
7 Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
8Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
9Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
10Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)
11Sarah Fisher (Sarah Fisher Racing)
12Milka Duno (Vision Racing)
13Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
14Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Racing)
15 Raphael Matos (Luczo Dragon Racing)
16Mike Conway (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
17Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
18E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
19Stanton Barrett (Team 3G)
20 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Vision Racing)
21 Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
22Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
< IndyCar
Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - IndyCar Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.