IndyCar > 2009 Round 02: Long Beach > Qualifying
INDYU.S.A.April 18, 2009
IRL IndyCar Series
Round 02: Honda Grand Prix of Long Beach

Will Powers to Long Beach Pole

Race Results >>

Despite an overnight car change, Will Power continued to be the man to beat on Saturday at the Grand Prix of Long Beach. The Team Penske driver chalked up his first IndyCar Series pole after giving up the #3 Honda Dallara he had driven to quick time Friday to returning teammate Helio Castroneves.

Power switched to the previously undriven #12 Penske entry in practice Saturday morning, then bested Target Chip Ganassi Racing's Dario Franchitti in Firestone “Fast Six” knockout qualifying by just 15- hundredths of a second. In addition to changing chassis, Power also took on a different crew as the Penske organization brought in personnel from the team's sports-car racing effort to run the third car.

Sunday's 85-lap race starts at 4:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on the Versus Network,starting with a pre-race show at 3:30 p.m. EDT.

Will Power (#3 Team Penske Honda) quickest in practice today:
“It was obvious in the first session that you had to use “reds” [softer compound tires] to get through to the next qualifying round. So, it was a matter of saving your reds a little bit and saving your energy to the final round. That's what I did. I saved my big lap until the end. It was a great job by the team. They had to swap everything over on this car, with an all-new crew, new engineer and everything. They did a good job. We're looking to have a strong race tomorrow and hopefully move up in the championship.”

IRL IndyCar Series
Round 02: Honda Grand Prix of Long Beach
1Will Power (Team Penske)
2Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi)
3Raphael Matos (Luczo Dragon Racing)
4E.J. Viso (HVM Racing)
5Justin Wilson (Dale Coyne Racing)
6Scott Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi)
7 Graham Rahal (Newman Haas Lanigan)
8Helio Castroneves (Team Penske)
9Alex Tagliani (Conquest Racing)
10Ryan Briscoe (Team Penske)
11Tony Kanaan (Andretti Green Racing)
12Ryan Hunter-Reay (Vision Racing)
13Mario Moraes (KV Racing Technology)
14Dan Wheldon (Panther Racing)
15 Robert Doornbos (Newman Haas Lanigan)
16Mike Conway (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
17Hideki Mutoh (Andretti Green Racing)
18Darren Manning (Dreyer & Reinbold Racing)
19Marco Andretti (Andretti Green Racing)
20 Vitor Meira (A.J. Foyt Racing)
21Stanton Barrett (Team 3G)
22Danica Patrick (Andretti Green Racing)
23Ed Carpenter (Vision Racing)

Related Links

· Honda IndyCar Official Web Site
· Honda Worldwide | IRL - Indy Car Series
· U.S.A.

Page Top

Honda Worldwide site

Home | Site Map | Site Index | About this Site

Copyright, Honda Motor Co., Ltd. and its subsidiaries and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.